The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2005, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
The Play of the Day from last Friday is throwing me a curve. Here's the play:

A11 is running a deep post pattern and B11 (a) contacts A11 knocking him off his intended path or (b) grabs A11's jersey. In both situations, the pass has already crossed the neutral zone and the pass is clearly away from A11.

The stated ruling is that in (a) there is no pass interference and in (b) there is holding.

My interpretation has always been that "holding" is a call that can be made PRIOR to the ball being thrown. Once the ball is away then the contact is pass interference. With the new "no DPI if clearly away from the pass" rule we obviously need to look at this differently now.

My question: Previous to this year, I would have called the situation in (b) defensive pass interference since the ball was clearly thrown. Was that wrong?

Second question: If A11 is clearly away from the ball, then I'm probably not even calling the "holding" foul because it likely isn't influencing the play. I am talking to the defender after the play though.

What's everyone's take on this?

__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1