View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 02:30pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Rulings

Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
Alright...enough about illegal substitution, illegal participation, non-player fouls, etc. How about this one?

PLAY: K1's punt is over receiver R1's head. It bounces at R's 3. R1 retreating to field the punt, grasps the grounded kick while airborne above his 2-yardline. His momentum carries him across his goal line. He first returns to the ground in his endzone where he falls to the ground. RULING: ??

NCAA and Federation rulings welcome. Oh...and CFL ruling also.
Amateur:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone. Since the player went to the ground, we have a rouge scored. Team B 1D/10 at B-35.

Professoinal:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone.

3.2.4, Paragraph 3. CFL rulebook: http://www.cfl.ca/themes/cfl1/05rulebook.pdf
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote