
Fri Aug 12, 2005, 09:19am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
|
|
Well... I believe we're looking at a touchback in both cases. I'm more certain of the Fed ruling, so let's start with that:
- The kick does not end until caught or recovered, or the ball becomes dead.
- Catch/recovery does not happen until player touches the ground inbounds.
- Points 1 & 2 mean the ball is still a kick while the player is in midair.
- The ball becomes dead resulting in a touchback when any kick breaks the plane of R's goal line.
- Points 3 & 4 mean that the receiver doesn't even have to land - it's a touchback as soon as he crosses the goal line.
Now for NCAA...
- First three points above are still valid.
- BUT - since the ball has touched the ground, it is possible for the receiver to impart new impetus. This will be in the judgement of the covering official. From the play description, the ball is bounding towards the end zone (hit at the 3, collected at the 2), so no new impetus here.
- Ball would be live if player had kept his feet. Since he did not, the ball is dead in the end zone. As the kicking team is responsible, this is a touchback.
Good question!
|