The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Alright...enough about illegal substitution, illegal participation, non-player fouls, etc. How about this one?

PLAY: K1's punt is over receiver R1's head. It bounces at R's 3. R1 retreating to field the punt, grasps the grounded kick while airborne above his 2-yardline. His momentum carries him across his goal line. He first returns to the ground in his endzone where he falls to the ground. RULING: ??

NCAA and Federation rulings welcome. Oh...and CFL ruling also.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Okay, the recovery is not complete until he returns to the ground. So, is it a touchback or does the ball go back to the 2, per the momentum rule?

Good one, Bob!
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to jrfath
NFHS - Touchback. Possession does not start till a foot hits the ground since R1 recovered the ball in the air. First touch is in end zone.
See Case Book play 6.3.1 Situation A
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I agree but I didn't want to spoil the fun. I brushed up on that rule after I missed a question about a similiar play regarding an onside kick.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 11, 2005, 02:30pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Rulings

Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
Alright...enough about illegal substitution, illegal participation, non-player fouls, etc. How about this one?

PLAY: K1's punt is over receiver R1's head. It bounces at R's 3. R1 retreating to field the punt, grasps the grounded kick while airborne above his 2-yardline. His momentum carries him across his goal line. He first returns to the ground in his endzone where he falls to the ground. RULING: ??

NCAA and Federation rulings welcome. Oh...and CFL ruling also.
Amateur:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone. Since the player went to the ground, we have a rouge scored. Team B 1D/10 at B-35.

Professoinal:

If a player obtains possession of the ball in the field of play, and in the judgment of the official, the player's momentum carries the player into the end zone, possession is deemed to have occured in the end zone.

3.2.4, Paragraph 3. CFL rulebook: http://www.cfl.ca/themes/cfl1/05rulebook.pdf
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 12, 2005, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Well... I believe we're looking at a touchback in both cases. I'm more certain of the Fed ruling, so let's start with that:
  1. The kick does not end until caught or recovered, or the ball becomes dead.
  2. Catch/recovery does not happen until player touches the ground inbounds.
  3. Points 1 & 2 mean the ball is still a kick while the player is in midair.
  4. The ball becomes dead resulting in a touchback when any kick breaks the plane of R's goal line.
  5. Points 3 & 4 mean that the receiver doesn't even have to land - it's a touchback as soon as he crosses the goal line.

Now for NCAA...
  1. First three points above are still valid.
  2. BUT - since the ball has touched the ground, it is possible for the receiver to impart new impetus. This will be in the judgement of the covering official. From the play description, the ball is bounding towards the end zone (hit at the 3, collected at the 2), so no new impetus here.
  3. Ball would be live if player had kept his feet. Since he did not, the ball is dead in the end zone. As the kicking team is responsible, this is a touchback.

Good question!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 13, 2005, 04:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
I agree, touchback.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 15, 2005, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Roamin' Umpire...I agree wholeheartedly with your Fed ruling, but not with your NCAA ruling. You might want to review impetus again.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1