The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2005, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to regas14 Send a message via Yahoo to regas14
I meant to bring my case book with me so I could quote it exactly, but in the portion of the Case Book dealing with Rule 8 there was a case that went roughly like this:

****************
Team A is attempting a try from its own 3 yard line (first off that's a lot of freiking penalties to lose 94 yards). The play is a legal forward pass during which a flag is thrown for a penalty against A. B1 intercepts the ball and returns it for the TD.

The ruling states that team B would have to decline the penalty in order for the TD to stand.

****************

I read it over and over to make sure that the word "TRY" was actually in there. Then I consulted the rule book going back and forth, but I couldn't come to any conclusion other than the fact that the ball should have been blown dead as soon as B secured possession via the interception. Team B could then choose the result of the play (failed try) or to enforce the penalty and replay the down (assuming the penalty would not result in a safety if committed during any other play). B cannot score during a try by A correct?

Could someone look that up and confirm it or at least let me know that I'm an idiot.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1