![]() |
|
|||
I meant to bring my case book with me so I could quote it exactly, but in the portion of the Case Book dealing with Rule 8 there was a case that went roughly like this:
**************** Team A is attempting a try from its own 3 yard line (first off that's a lot of freiking penalties to lose 94 yards). The play is a legal forward pass during which a flag is thrown for a penalty against A. B1 intercepts the ball and returns it for the TD. The ruling states that team B would have to decline the penalty in order for the TD to stand. **************** I read it over and over to make sure that the word "TRY" was actually in there. Then I consulted the rule book going back and forth, but I couldn't come to any conclusion other than the fact that the ball should have been blown dead as soon as B secured possession via the interception. Team B could then choose the result of the play (failed try) or to enforce the penalty and replay the down (assuming the penalty would not result in a safety if committed during any other play). B cannot score during a try by A correct? Could someone look that up and confirm it or at least let me know that I'm an idiot. |
|
|||
Pg. 55 8.2.2 Situation B: This is a try for point play and thus when B2 intercepts the pass, the play is dead. There is no accepting or declining a penalty by A. No touchdown can be scored by B.
There's about a million billion mistakes in the case book this year. Here's a big list: http://www.gmcgriff.com/discus/messa...tml?1120058307 |
|
|||
REPLY: Certainly is an error when put into the context of a TRY. But if you look at the numbering of the rules, Rule 8-2-2 speaks about when penalties are carried over to the try when a TD is scored. I think the error is that plays 8.2.2A and 8.2.2B are lumped under a heading of "TRY" when they should more appropriately be under a heading of "TOUCHDOWN." If taken out of the "TRY" category, the ruling is correct. Even play 8.2.2A has nothing really to do with a try down. Personally, I can't see why Rule 8-2-2 is defined under Rule 8 (likewise with 8-4-3). They more appropriately belong somewhere in Rule 10 since they are specifically related to Enforcement of Penalties--not Scoring.
__________________
Bob M. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
(I'll say this here to save typing it on every one of my posts) I'm a rookie official so I might be woefully mistaken about everything I've said above, but please go easy on me - I'll learn. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|