The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2004, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
Rule 4-a-2 specifically states that the ball remains alive if he "rises and catches and errant snap and immediately returns his knee(s) to the ground". In the example given...

OK, now the snap goes bad. The holder rises, runs over to the ball, the kicker does likewise. The snapper returns to the ground, recovers the kick, and the kicker sends it through the uprights.

The holder does not rise "AND CATCH" the errant snap, the snap was not controlled until he returned his knees to the ground. In MHO the catch (gaining possession) must occur BEFORE the knee(s) are returned to the ground, not after as stated.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1