View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2004, 02:09pm
Texoma_LJ Texoma_LJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
Rule 4-a-2 specifically states that the ball remains alive if he "rises and catches and errant snap and immediately returns his knee(s) to the ground". In the example given...

OK, now the snap goes bad. The holder rises, runs over to the ball, the kicker does likewise. The snapper returns to the ground, recovers the kick, and the kicker sends it through the uprights.

The holder does not rise "AND CATCH" the errant snap, the snap was not controlled until he returned his knees to the ground. In MHO the catch (gaining possession) must occur BEFORE the knee(s) are returned to the ground, not after as stated.
Reply With Quote