The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 04, 2004, 11:32am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Exclamation Changing sides

I think I may have found some things to put this discussion at rest.
3-4-3b says "snap" if B is awarded new series - did not happen.
3-5-7c says officials TO following a change in team possession - we did have that. After penalty consideration, B not given new series, so don't have to start on snap as stated in 3-4-3b. Tackle was IB, so that would indicate RFP.
Casebook 3.4.3D says "With 3rd-10: (a) A1 fumbles the ball and B recovers, or (b) A1's pass is intercepted by B. When will the clock start? RULING: Since a change of possession has occured in both (a) and (b) and B is awarded a new series of downs, the clock will start on the snap.
This "and" in the casebook was a big one in my changing sides to the RFP. That "and" would not have to be in there, but with it being there indicates to me that for it to start on the snap, both the COP "and" new series for B must occur.
I now say RFP.
It is discussions like this that make me love these boards. The arguing back and forth gets you in the book and keeps us fresh. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1