The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Bob M., doesn't the goal line extended rule also apply to catching a pass that is outside of the inbounds line while standing in the EZ?
REPLY: I'm assuming you meant 'sideline' as opposed to 'inbounds line' and NO, I really don't think so. The definition of goal line (NF 2-25-3) includes the definition of the extension, but it refers to it solely in the context of a ball in a runner's possession. In a pass play into the endzone such as the one you describe, where the ball does not cross the plane of the goal line in a player's possession, the position of the ball itself is not really important. All that's important is whether the catch is completed, i.e. receiver's first contact with the ground is inbounds.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1