View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 02, 2004, 02:54am
cowbyfan1 cowbyfan1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Quote:
Originally posted by kdf5
Has anyone read Case Book 1.2.4? "Ball carrier A10 dives into the pylon at the intersection of the goal line and sidelines. RULING: Touchdown. Assuming the pylon was placed properly, the ball broke the plane of the goal line prior to the touching of the pylon".

Where does this fit into this argument?
With a properly positioned pylon the ball would hit the inside or corner of the pylon. Not the front.

Quote:

So, in # 2, if he first touched a hand on the ground at the 1/2yd line, he hit the ball against the front side of the pylon, it would then be a TD? I understand that touching anything out of bounds causes the ball to be out of bounds, but does that mean that the pylon breaks the goal line extended?
The hand is on the ground and thus the player is not truly airborne. TD in this case.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote