View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 09:46am
sm_bbcoach sm_bbcoach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally posted by ABoselli
There is, it's in rule 1 I believe. Something like, "When positioned properly, the pylon is out of bounds at the ntersection of the sideline and the goal line extended".

BUT

You cannot place the ball short of the goal line when an airborne player hits the pylon with the ball. That's a touchdown, plain and simple. Where do you plan on placing it? At the .0000005 inch line? If the ball did indeed go OB, that's about the point where it did. The standard practice is if the ball touches the pylon and the runner is either airborn or touching inbounds, and has not gone OB prior to touching, it's a TD.

In every game at every level from pee-wee to the NFL, that's SOP.
OK. So by rule, if the ball hits the front of the pylon, it is OB. BUT we do not call it like that? Since the GLE only works for players who are on the ground, we will place the ball at the .00000000000000005 yd line {about thwere he went out}, ie just short of the GL.

The only thing your eyes / brain needs to determine, airborn, on ground; hits front or inside of pylon.

airborn: inside= TD; front= just short OOB
ground: TD either way.

Am I getting the gist of this?
Reply With Quote