The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2018, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 98
Eight men on the line

With eight men on the line of scrimmage, the tight end (A-23) lines up next to the tackle, but is covered up by a wide receiver. During the play, A-23 remains at the line and blocks a blitzer. Is this play legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 08, 2018, 08:01pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,231
Legal.

The rule states that you must have at least 7 players on the line of scrimmage (FED) or no more than 4 in the backs (NCAA).

There's nothing that says that you can't have 8, 9, or 10 players on the LOS. (You can't have 11 on the LOS because if you did nobody could receive the snap).

Now, if A23 goes more than 3 yards downfield before a legal forward pass is thrown, then you've got a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 09, 2018, 07:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
With eight men on the line of scrimmage, the tight end (A-23) lines up next to the tackle, but is covered up by a wide receiver. During the play, A-23 remains at the line and blocks a blitzer. Is this play legal?
If A23 lines-up between "the tackle" and a "wide receiver (who is up on the line) he's NOT A TIGHT END, he's simply another LINEMAN, between the tackle and the player on the end of the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 10, 2018, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 605
There is nothing illegal about this formation in either NFHS or NCAA. As was mentioned there is a risk of an ineligible lineman downfield penalty if he travels too far and a forward pass is attempted, but that's true of any lineman.

This formation gets flagged on Sundays sometimes, I think because they have rules that certain numbers must be eligible unless they announce them as ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2018, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,645
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
(You can't have 11 on the LOS because if you did nobody could receive the snap).
I've seen that done twice in a game by a team that was getting walloped & conceding safeties by snapping thru the end zone.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 11, 2018, 01:53pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,553
Happens all the time in an overload formation. Coaches will sometimes even mention it in pre-game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2018, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
This formation gets flagged on Sundays sometimes, I think because they have rules that certain numbers must be eligible unless they announce them as ineligible.
I think that's the part I'm unsure about. Should it be flagged?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 17, 2018, 09:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 538
Send a message via AIM to BoomerSooner
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
I think that's the part I'm unsure about. Should it be flagged?
So the reason it gets flagged is that the NFL requires that all of the players between the players on each end of the line be ineligible whether by number or after having reported as ineligible. So when this gets flagged it is usually because a player with an eligible number is “covered” by another player on the end of the line. The penalty is still considered an illegal formation, but it isn’t specifically for having 8 players on the line.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 08:29am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,553
NFL rule set can be totally different in some instances.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 18, 2018, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 98
If either the TE or WR shift to the backfield before the snap, is that legal, and does it make the TE eligible to go downfield?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsaucer View Post
If either the TE or WR shift to the backfield before the snap, is that legal, and does it make the TE eligible to go downfield?
Under the NFHS Rule Code, If "the lineman, next to the tackle, but inside the WR on the line (who is NOT A "TIGHT END"), legally shifts to become a "Back", and happens to be wearing an eligible pass reception number, he would be eligible to go wherever he wants prior to, or during a forward pass.

Accurately knowing who players on the field actually are, as defined in NFHS 2-32 can be really helpful in understanding what they are permitted to do.

Last edited by ajmc; Wed Sep 19, 2018 at 08:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 19, 2018, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Under the NFHS Rule Code, If "the lineman, next to the tackle, but inside the WR on the line (who is NOT A "TIGHT END"), legally shifts to become a "Back", and happens to be wearing an eligible pass reception number, he would be eligible to go wherever he wants prior to, or during a forward pass.

Accurately knowing who players on the field actually are, as defined in NFHS 2-32 can be really helpful in understanding what they are permitted to do.
What about NFL rules?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still run the end line? jeremy341a Basketball 10 Wed Oct 23, 2013 04:16pm
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Out of line? canadaump6 Baseball 13 Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:27pm
Free kick line behind the goal line starman Football 9 Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:33pm
Was I out of line here? JoeT Basketball 12 Tue Jan 25, 2000 10:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1