![]() |
|
|
|||
The receiving team's player fumbled the ball, which was recovered by the kicking team's player. But, there was a facemask against the receiving team right before the fumble. So, the receiving team's player did not complete a run. Does the facemask call nullify the fumble?
Last edited by Skijunki07; Sun Sep 11, 2016 at 09:30pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Something that reads so clearly, that causes a lot of confusion is "a kick remains a kick, until it's no longer a kick" (which means:" a kick remains a kick until someone/anyone POSSESSES it, or it's blown dead. NFHS 2-34-1.
No matter who, or how many different people touch/muff a kick, it remains a kick until it's actually POSSESSED. While a kick is still a kick it is a LOOSE BALL, and any fouls that occur are enforced as such. The key to your question, aside from who actually grabbed a facemask, is whether that happened DURING the kick, or after it was RECOVERED (which requires POSSESSION, not just touching/muffing), and would then be enforced from the end of the related run (the fumble) rather than the previous spot. The "Kicking Rules" are an area worthy of extensive review & discussion. Last edited by ajmc; Mon Sep 12, 2016 at 10:54am. |
|
|||
The receiving team gets to keep the ball, and the FM penalty will be marked off from the end of the run -- the spot where he fumbled.
Last edited by CT1; Tue Sep 13, 2016 at 07:45am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
...further IFP questions | Jaysef | Football | 4 | Thu Aug 10, 2006 08:42am |
Fed Questions | Chess Ref | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jun 25, 2006 06:48am |
PSK and IW Questions | mikesears | Football | 8 | Tue Jan 28, 2003 09:38am |
2 Questions | Woodee | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 14, 2003 03:38am |
2 questions | justacoach | Basketball | 17 | Mon Dec 23, 2002 02:01pm |