Thread: Questions
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 12, 2016, 10:50am
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Something that reads so clearly, that causes a lot of confusion is "a kick remains a kick, until it's no longer a kick" (which means:" a kick remains a kick until someone/anyone POSSESSES it, or it's blown dead. NFHS 2-34-1.

No matter who, or how many different people touch/muff a kick, it remains a kick until it's actually POSSESSED. While a kick is still a kick it is a LOOSE BALL, and any fouls that occur are enforced as such.

The key to your question, aside from who actually grabbed a facemask, is whether that happened DURING the kick, or after it was RECOVERED (which requires POSSESSION, not just touching/muffing), and would then be enforced from the end of the related run (the fumble) rather than the previous spot.

The "Kicking Rules" are an area worthy of extensive review & discussion.

Last edited by ajmc; Mon Sep 12, 2016 at 10:54am.
Reply With Quote