The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 01:37pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
That's not a FED rule (or an NCAA rule, for that matter).

If it's an NFL rule, I'd assume it's the responsibility of the Umpire or Side Judge.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
That's not a FED rule (or an NCAA rule, for that matter).

If it's an NFL rule, I'd assume it's the responsibility of the Umpire or Side Judge.
Could it be a youth rule?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
When all 11 get into position you count one thousand one and then someone can go in motion. Seems easy enough.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
If I am the QB and we are on the 20 and I run back to 27 yard line and intentional ground the ball do I start the next down on the 25 or 32?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2016, 07:37am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
If I am the QB and we are on the 20 and I run back to 27 yard line and intentional ground the ball do I start the next down on the 25 or 32?
(FED) The 32, with loss of down.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2016, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
(FED) The 32, with loss of down.
Douh because if he had taken the sack that is where the ball would have been down. So it makes sense to start the penalty from that spot. Thanks!
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 25, 2016, 08:20am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Douh because if he had taken the sack that is where the ball would have been down. So it makes sense to start the penalty from that spot. Thanks!
That's a reasonable rationale, but it's not the reason why the 27 is the enforcement spot.

This is a loose ball play (LBP). The Basic (enforcement) Spot for a LBP is the previous spot. All fouls are enforced from the Basic Spot, except for a foul by the offense BEHIND the Basic Spot, which is enforced from the spot of the foul. That's what we have here.

FYI - This method of determining the enforcement spot is commonly called "All But One (or "3-&-1" if you talk to an old-timer like me). It's usually abbreviated as "ABO".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Could it be a youth rule?
That is an NFL rule or form of it, yes....and what some youth coaches around here thought was gospel in their ruleset until we squared them up on it.

Roughing the center/snapper to these guys meant that you couldn't line up over him either. If I had a dollar for every "they touched our center" back when I did these games, I could have a lake house up North.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canned Heat View Post
That is an NFL rule or form of it, yes....and what some youth coaches around here thought was gospel in their ruleset until we squared them up on it.

Roughing the center/snapper to these guys meant that you couldn't line up over him either. If I had a dollar for every "they touched our center" back when I did these games, I could have a lake house up North.
Is it only if there is contact before the snapper can be ready or just lining up over him its a foul? Is that youth or FED?
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 23, 2016, 10:09pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Youth rules are usually local adaptations of one of the major rule codes. You need to seek guidance from your local officials as none of us know which rules set you a using.

There is no regulation in NFHS regarding where to line up over the snapper. A B/R player may not charge directly into him, in a scrimmage kick formation, until he has an opportunity to recover from the snap or when he moves to participate in the play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2016, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Is it only if there is contact before the snapper can be ready or just lining up over him its a foul? Is that youth or FED?
Fed....this group (AAYFL here in WI) used WIAA w/ adaptations at the time. I believe they still do. I have no clue what the ruleset is by you, so you need to look into that and verse yourself with it.


And that's the thing...he CAN be contacted, he just can't be blown up with his head down....B needs to let him protect himself and get his head up or avoid major contact while unprotected (head down). Many of these guys would teach their C's to snap the ball on scrimmage kick formations and keep their head down and then if a guy shot the gap and bumped their kid in the hip or leg, they wanted 15....that's not what the rule is or is there for.

Roughing the center/snapper (FED/NFHS 9-4-6) 15 yards from previous and first down.

Horse collar tackle is also a FED/NFHS rule (9-4-3k) and variations exist in NFL/NCAA/CFL) 15 yards

Good luck.
__________________
"Assumption is the mother of all screw-ups...."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2016, 10:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canned Heat View Post
Fed....this group (AAYFL here in WI) used WIAA w/ adaptations at the time. I believe they still do. I have no clue what the ruleset is by you, so you need to look into that and verse yourself with it.


And that's the thing...he CAN be contacted, he just can't be blown up with his head down....B needs to let him protect himself and get his head up or avoid major contact while unprotected (head down). Many of these guys would teach their C's to snap the ball on scrimmage kick formations and keep their head down and then if a guy shot the gap and bumped their kid in the hip or leg, they wanted 15....that's not what the rule is or is there for.

Roughing the center/snapper (FED/NFHS 9-4-6) 15 yards from previous and first down.

Horse collar tackle is also a FED/NFHS rule (9-4-3k) and variations exist in NFL/NCAA/CFL) 15 yards

Good luck.
Thanks Can
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help a rookie out. jeremy341a Basketball 22 Fri Sep 28, 2012 09:46pm
New/Old Rookie big Volleyball 5 Sat Apr 08, 2006 03:28pm
The Rookie Adam Basketball 4 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:07pm
Rookie jcurtin Basketball 3 Mon Dec 13, 2004 05:00pm
i'm a rookie minnesota ref Basketball 2 Mon Jan 31, 2000 08:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1