![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Here's a lesson for younger officials... just because you make a mistake, it doesn't make it okay for a coach to act out. I may give him more rope to rant, but my mistake is not his "get out of jail free" card. As for how to handle the shot clock, I wish I could say. We don't have one in Ohio, so I have no experience with it and couldn't say. Seems to me that one of the official's on the court should have known, and therefore whistled the play dead. But I don't know the rule. BTW, a mistake made in the book or by the scorer's table can be fixed if an official has definite knowledge that an error was made. I would guess that, in this case, the mistake could be rectified if an official can say for sure that the shot clock would have reached zero. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The forum doesn't have a tennis page, does it?
|
|
|||
|
Tough situation for the crew. If the try truly did not strike the ring, then this is a mistake by the shot clock operator.
The CIF uses a 35 second shot clock for boys basketball. The rules for its use are published in a CIF rules modification document. I'll consult that and then post again, but my current thought is that this is a timing error, not a correctable error, so if the crew doesn't catch it before the goal is scored, it cannot be fixed. My analogous situation for those who work HS ball without a shot clock would be the game clock timer failing to start the clock with 3.5 seconds left in a quarter and a team scores. If none of the officials used definite knowledge to blow the play dead before the goal, it has to count and the game continues with the ensuing throw-in by the opponent after any adjustment of the clock by the referee. If no one had any count, then 3.5 stays on the clock. |
|
|||
|
California Case Play
Here is the only part of CIF shot clock document that is helpful:
- Shot-clock operator mistake: A1 shoots with three seconds on shot clock—ball misses ring/flange, A2 gets rebound. Shot-clock operator mistakenly resets clock on A2’s possession. Team A runs offense for 10 seconds. Timer has official stop play and informs her/him that a mistake was made by resetting the shot clock. Answer: Call shot-clock violation—ball goes to Team B at end line. If official has actual knowledge, time can be corrected on game clock (add minimum of 10 seconds to game clock).
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Shot Clock Error | c'mon mendy | Basketball | 19 | Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:23pm |
| (Un)Correctable Error & Shot Clock Use ? | bd41flpk | Basketball | 26 | Tue Jan 03, 2012 12:11am |
| Reset shot clock before FT on correctable error? | Lotto | Basketball | 32 | Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:03pm |
| Correctable error 1and 1 foul shot | dknick78 | Basketball | 4 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 01:27pm |