![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Coach A yells to A1: "Come take the point." A2 stands holding the ball, having already used his dribble. A1 approaches. A2 drops the ball straight to the floor, to be picked up by A1. A2 starts to go one way, then changes direction and the ball brushes against his leg. You would call this a violation?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Would I call it? A brush. no. If there was more contact like the OP I would have no problem calling it and explaining that when the player touched the ball first after throwing it or dropping it to the floor that constituted a second dribble....even though he didnt mean to be the first to touch it. Last edited by BigCat; Mon Feb 23, 2015 at 08:40pm. |
|
|||
|
Anyone notice the name of the quoted poster in post #5. Gave me a laugh!
Quote: Originally Posted by bob jerkins Ended a dribble, threw the ball to the floor, touched the ball again. Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Feb 24, 2015 at 01:37am. |
|
|||
|
4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board.
The statement in the RULING is neither isolated from the other sentences/statements, nor is it a universal statement, but a reference to the actions in the Case play. That is, the first sentence of the RULING refers to the actions noted in the play, which are (a) . . . catches (that must be with the hand(s) . . . and (b) . . . recovers the ball (that must be with the hand(s), and dribbles again (which starts with the player holding the ball with his/her hand(s). There is no intention in the language of the RULING for that RULING to be applied to other scenarios/plays other than that which constitutes SITUATION C. One would have to look elsewhere for a RULING regarding the ball touching another part of the body of the player involved, and whether that touching constitutes a dribble. I tend to think that the ball touching another part of the body, other than the hand(s) of the player does not constitute a defined dribble.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
It's Those Damn North Korean Hackers ...
Absolutely not. This is the second time that this happened to me in a week. The last time the poster's name was changed to the previous poster, not the poster that I quoted. The last time the problem was "fixed" by a moderator, this time I "fixed" it myself, as an act of good faith. I do not need, nor do I want, a suspension, or "time out", from the Forum during the upcoming climax of basketball season.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Feb 24, 2015 at 07:24am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| illegal dribble? | onetime1 | Basketball | 21 | Fri Mar 22, 2013 04:26pm |
| Illegal Dribble? | Mingram | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:52pm |
| illegal dribble? | wanja | Basketball | 24 | Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:58am |
| Illegal Dribble? | bas2456 | Basketball | 11 | Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:03am |
| Illegal Dribble | huskyz | Basketball | 20 | Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm |