The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Feb 08, 2015, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member

Stoppage to reset shot clock

Hi all,
I am a coach and went to watch two of my ex players play each other at the JC level. No real bias so feel like this is an accurate description of the situation and found this play interesting.

Tie game with about 1 minute to play and the offense has 25+ seconds on the shot clock when a player on the wing throws a bizarre pass toward the opposite short corner. The pass hits the rim and bounces directly to an offensive player at the elbow. Because everyone was shifting following the pass there is a wide open lane to the basket. Offensive player takes a dribble toward a wide open layup and as he gathers for the shot there is a whistle. Offensive player scores the wide open layup that could have put them up two. The Official saw that the shot clock was not reset, killed the play, and signaled for a reset of the shot clock. Offense fails to score on ensuing possession and loses.

I am not saying this cost anyone a game or denying that this was a correct ruling but curious about you professional officials opinion of a situation like this. Is this a no brainer call it regardless of what may or not be about to occur or is there some judgment that can be made?

Last edited by BDevil15; Sun Feb 08, 2015 at 09:35pm. Reason: Words
Old Sun Feb 08, 2015, 04:44pm
Do not give a damn!!

OK, a clock was reset. We do not have video or anything to go by other than what you say. It is a judgment call, it is that simple. There is no hard fast rule. There is no automatic call or situation. It is simply a judgment and reading words on a screen is not going to change that fact. And if that play would cost someone the game, you are not playing well enough in the first place.

Peace
Old Sun Feb 08, 2015, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member