Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55
This is not as black and white as you assume. If the ball hits the rim, for the shot clock to be reset, it must be part of a try for goal (NCAAM 2-11-6a). What is a try is a judgment.
From your account, it sounds like this was an obvious pass and not a try. If so, the shot clock operator was correct and the official should not have stopped play to reset it.
If, however, the official believed the pass was a try for goal, then I'm not quite sure of what the mechanic is here. Me thinks that if the shot clock was not reset but there was plenty of time left and an immediate scoring play ensued, I think I let that play continue (kind of like had a routine injury occurred...you wait until a scoring play is complete or the offense is no longer advancing). However, there may be a mechanic or point of emphasis or John Adams dictate that states the official must correct the error immediately. If so, the official was correct and it just sucks for the team that would have scored.
|
Hey Crosscountry, I'm a HS guy and have never worked NCAA, but I'm confused on how could this be considered a try for goal. I thought that if A1 is inbounding, the ball by rule would have to be touched by another player before any try for goal could be made. So, if it hit the rim prior to touching any player direct from inbounding, it could not be considered a try and would have no impact on the shot clock. Had it gone through the basket there would be no score.
Do the NCAA rules significantly differ on this scenario? Or have I just read all these posts and confused the hell out of myself.
Rich