The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 02:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 107
I am thinking that following basket interference or goaltending the official shall hand the ball to the thrower-in. But I can't find it in any of my books. Is it stated anywhere that the official has to "hand" the ball to the thrower-in following BI of GT....is so where? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 03, 2003, 02:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Try : Rule 7-5.3, 7-5.7, 7-5.2,
Case 7.5.7
Officials Manual 220
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 02:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 216
Mick,
I read those rules but could not determine if team B throws in from the spot or has the baseline. It IS a basket (awarded one though)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by wizard
Mick,
I read those rules but could not determine if team B throws in from the spot or has the baseline. It IS a basket (awarded one though)?
A can run the baseline after a made or awarded basket by B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 04:03pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by wizard
Mick,
I read those rules but could not determine if team B throws in from the spot or has the baseline. It IS a basket (awarded one though)?

YU.P.
... What Dan said.

If it counts let 'em run with the ball; it doesn't matter if they get a bounce, or have the ball handed to them due to defensive pressure.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 11, 2003, 04:04pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
[B
A can run the baseline after a made or awarded basket by B. [/B]
Dan,
I haven't forgotten you.
Been busy.
Thanks.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 107
The purpose of the original question (should the official hand or bounce the ball to the thrower-in following basket interference or goaltending) was to see what responses would be given since the rules/case/simplified & illustrated books give diffferent answers. It is a given that no fan or coach would not know the difference and most officals would not know either.

Rule Book 2003-04::Page 59, Rule 11 Section 12 Penalty 1.--if goaltending occurs at the opponents basket, "the official shall HAND the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in".

Simplified & Illustrated 2003-04::Page66, Rule 9-11-1, Case play at bottom of page--For basket interference "the official HANDS or BOUNCES the ball to a team B player for a throw-in anywhere along the end line nearest team A's basket"

Case Book 2003-04::Page 60, Rule 9.0--Middle of page Basket interference or goaltending "the official MUST HAND or BOUNCE the ball to the thrower."

Obviously the Books are not consistent with each other. To be redundant, if the books are not consistent then no one in the gym would know what is proper. However, when in doubt I do what the rule book says. I was just curious was to what answers would be given on the board.
__________________
Trust me coach !!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 08:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
The purpose of the original question (should the official hand or bounce the ball to the thrower-in following basket interference or goaltending) was to see what responses would be given since the rules/case/simplified & illustrated books give diffferent answers.
APHP,
Interesting.
Yet, I think the important point made is that the opponent of the awarded basket may not simply take the ball at will,
the official shall stop the clock and the official shall administer the ball.
mick


BTW:

Rule Book 2003-04::Page 59, Rule 9 Section 12 Penalty 1.--if goaltending occurs at the opponents basket, "the official shall HAND the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in".
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
It's no different than any other throw-in that's to be administered. You can hand it to the thrower or bounce it to him/her. I think you're getting to wrapped up in the semantics. The rule book simply hasn't been changed to reflect that we can now bounce the ball to the thrower, not that it necessarily needs to be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 09:15am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,738
Methinks that you are being a little anal

Actually, I wouldn't be surprised if this is just one that got by the rules editor. A mechanics change was made allowing a bounce, but that doesn't always mean that the change makes it over to the rule book.

And if it is a mechanics question, I would let the mechanics manual(s) win out over the rule book.

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 11:03am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,008
Lightbulb Talk to your head people.

We were told to hand the ball on all endline throw-ins. Guys were leaving the line too early when they were bouncing the ball. Your state might have a specific take on this, that the mechanics book does not support.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,154
Actually, I don't think they are inconsistant as you suggest....
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
The purpose of the original question (should the official hand or bounce the ball to the thrower-in following basket interference or goaltending) was to see what responses would be given since the rules/case/simplified & illustrated books give diffferent answers. It is a given that no fan or coach would not know the difference and most officals would not know either.

Rule Book 2003-04::Page 59, Rule 11 Section 12 Penalty 1.--if goaltending occurs at the opponents basket, "the official shall HAND the ball to a player of the team entitled to the throw-in".
The GT was by the defense at the offensive teams basket. The throwin will be on the endline. All endline throwins in the frontcourt are handed to the thrower.

Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
Simplified & Illustrated 2003-04::Page66, Rule 9-11-1, Case play at bottom of page--For basket interference "the official HANDS or BOUNCES the ball to a team B player for a throw-in anywhere along the end line nearest team A's basket"
This one was was at A's basket and since B's getting the ball, A committed the violation. The throwin is along the endline but in B backcourt since it was at A's basket.

In the backcourt, all throwins can be bounced or handed.

Quote:
Originally posted by APHP

Case Book 2003-04::Page 60, Rule 9.0--Middle of page Basket interference or goaltending "the official MUST HAND or BOUNCE the ball to the thrower."
Correct. It must be one or the other. We can't let the player just grab the dead ball and resume play.

Quote:
Originally posted by APHP

Obviously the Books are not consistent with each other. To be redundant, if the books are not consistent then no one in the gym would know what is proper. However, when in doubt I do what the rule book says. I was just curious was to what answers would be given on the board.
They are consistent.

  • Frontcourt endline throwin...the official must hand the ball to the thrower.
  • A throwin from any other location...official may hand or bounce the ball to the thrower.
  • After a BI or GT, an official must administer the throwin.
  • Reply With Quote
      #13 (permalink)  
    Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 11:38am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Sep 2000
    Location: Just north of hell
    Posts: 9,250
    Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Camron Rust
    Actually, I don't think they are inconsistant as you suggest....

    The GT was by the defense at the offensive teams basket. The throwin will be on the endline. All endline throwins in the frontcourt are handed to the thrower.



    Camron, I've long ago learned not to question your analysis but I can't for the life of me conjure up a scenario where a BI/GT at any basket would not lead to a team getting the ball in their own backcourt.

    What am I missing?

    Quote:

  • Frontcourt endline throwin...the official must hand the ball to the thrower.
  • A throwin from any other location...official may hand or bounce the ball to the thrower.
  • After a BI or GT, an official must administer the throwin. [/B]
  • Good summary, although as has been pointed out handing/bouncing may not be optional. Where I am bouncing on the BC endline & any sidelines varies from STRONGLY recommended to ABSOLUTELY required.
    Reply With Quote
      #14 (permalink)  
    Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 12:45pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Location: In the offseason.
    Posts: 12,154
    Talking

    Quote:
    Originally posted by Dan_ref
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Camron Rust
    Actually, I don't think they are inconsistant as you suggest....

    The GT was by the defense at the offensive teams basket. The throwin will be on the endline. All endline throwins in the frontcourt are handed to the thrower.



    Camron, I've long ago learned not to question your analysis but I can't for the life of me conjure up a scenario where a BI/GT at any basket would not lead to a team getting the ball in their own backcourt.

    What am I missing?

    After a second look....nothing.

    I responded too fast...not considering that the basket is awarded for the defensive interference...before heading off to a meeting.

    I agree with you in that all throwins after BI/GT will be in the backcourt since the points wiil be awarded for defensive infractions and the defending team will get the ball on the backcourt endline. And, for offensive infractions, the defense will again get the ball on the backcourt endline after the points are canceled.

    Looks like there may actually be an inconsistancy in the rules. :|
    Reply With Quote
      #15 (permalink)  
    Old Fri Sep 12, 2003, 07:39pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2000
    Location: Central Wisconsin
    Posts: 1,069
    Am I missing something?

    Hello All!

    Semi-rusty brain at work....

    Wouldn't the inbounding team have endline "Priviledge" after an "awarded" basket? Also, wouldn't the subsequent throw-in only occur at the backcourt endline since the official has just awarded the ball to the opponent of the offended team.

    __________________
    "Stay in the game!"
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes Rate This Thread
    Rate This Thread:

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48pm.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1