The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 12:03am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Should We Have Fixed It?

I messed up (surprise, huh?).

I was the lead and had a foul against A12 for pushing during a rebound. However, the players reacted as if the foul was on a member of Team B, and I second-guessed myself. I figured that I must have had a brain fart and A12 was the player that got fouled. But I didn't get a look at the player for Team B involved in the play, and went to a partner to see if he saw it. Turns out that he didn't know who the foul was on, but my other partner said it was on B5.

So... basically, there was a foul on A12, but I called it on B5.

I in-bound the ball and we go the other way, nothing really happens, and the ball is hit out of bounds. The partner that told me the foul was on B5 stops play and approaches me. He says that the foul was on A12... I had it right originally. He points out that we're within the time to correct an error, but I tell him that it's not a correctable error. I messed up, and we have to go with it.

The coach for Team B wants to know what the hold-up is, and I tell him that I messed up, and the foul was against A12. But I tell him it's not a correctable error, so we have to go with it. I apologize for the mistake, and the game goes on.

Thankfully Team B pulls away at the end and wins by 7, so my mistake doesn't affect the outcome. But I have to ask... did we do things right? We can't correct that error, right?

BTW, I don't know why my partner told me the foul was on B5, only to turn around not 30 seconds later and tell me I was originally right. And I learned to ignore how the players react, and just call it. Sure, sometimes how the players react can help you (like if you're not sure the foul was during a shot, and the fact the players start to lineup right away leads you to go with a shooting foul), but for the most part just do your thing.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 65
It is too late to fix the throw in as that must happen before the throw in is completed. However you are not clear as to whether or not you changed the book. You can do that at any time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 04:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by junruh07 View Post
It is too late to fix the throw in as that must happen before the throw in is completed. However you are not clear as to whether or not you changed the book. You can do that at any time.
I agree with this. The official reported the foul on the wrong player (also the wrong team in this case) due to confusion. That caused a mistake with the subsequent throw-in which is not correctable, but as the official now has knowledge that the foul was incorrectly reported that should be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
That caused a mistake with the subsequent throw-in which is not correctable, but as the official now has knowledge that the foul was incorrectly reported that should be fixed.
Can you site a rule that supports changing the foul? I've done what the OP did, determined at half time that I charged the foul to the player who was fouled, but my partners said that we could not change the foul in the book. That didn't feel right to me since we had definite knowledge.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 09:14am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
We changed nothing.

And I too would like a rule reference saying we can change who the foul was on.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2015, 09:52am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesMoines View Post
2.11.10 SITUATION C:

The scorer mistakenly credits a field goal by A1 to B1 and Team B in the second quarter. The regulation game ends with the score tied. During a time-out in overtime, the scorer detects the mistake and advises the *referee.

RULING: The referee will have the mistake corrected. The overtime will continue with the corrected score. Once the ball becomes live in the overtime, the overtime will be played even though a subsequent correction of an error or *mistake changes the score. A bookkeeping mistake can be corrected at any time until the final score is approved.
I don't think that applies, as it's a scorer mistake... Not an official's mistake. We can always fix a scorer's mistake.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can this be fixed? gordon30307 Baseball 6 Tue Apr 03, 2012 03:20pm
could I have fixed this? tcosmo Basketball 24 Tue Mar 03, 2009 01:14pm
Top 10 Signs An NBA Game Is Fixed Mark Padgett Basketball 30 Tue Jun 17, 2008 02:50pm
Correctable error fixed during halftime of Big East game Nevadaref Basketball 19 Fri Mar 07, 2008 02:16pm
Can this be fixed? jprideaux Baseball 12 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1