The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 08:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Can this be fixed?

First of all not my game. This situation was told to me. High School Varsity. Batter hit by pitch and is sent down to first. Defensive team protests need to get out of the way of the pitch etc. etc. HP umpire confers with his partner and his partener agrees he leaned into it. HP umpire brings him back to the plate. Batter get in the box and asks the HP umpire what's the count? He's told 3 and 0. Next pitch a strike and the defensive team comes out on the field to celebrate the victory. HP umpire finds out the count was 2 and 2 and not 3 and 0. Game over.

Can this be fixed or is the game over? Definitely an injustice here.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 09:01am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
There is nothing to fix other than ensure the PU keeps the count next time.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
What's the injustice? The kid struck out in a high school baseball game. :shrug:

The mistake was conferring with partner. That's PU's call all the way.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 11:05am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
I had something similar happen once.

After a foul ball, the DHC asked me for the count. I told him it was 0-2.

Somehow, I lost the count and my indicator showed 0-2. Actually, the count was 3-1. (Don't know how it happened. 3rd game of the day. Brain was a little fried, I guess.)

The next pitch was an eye-high waste pitch and the batter starts trotting to 1B. Immediately I'm thinking, "Whoa ooh!"

DHC comes out and give me a chewing. I gave him plenty of leeway. When it was time to be done, I let him know it was time to get the game back underway. He wasn't willing at this point to let it go and I'm thinking I might have to dump him.

Instead, I said to him in a very nice tone, "Coach, I'm sorry. I realy am. But if I understand things here, you're upset with me for losing the count ... which is the exact same thing that you did."

It ended the discussion and he got to stay for the rest of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 01:51pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon30307 View Post
First of all not my game. This situation was told to me. High School Varsity. Batter hit by pitch and is sent down to first. Defensive team protests need to get out of the way of the pitch etc. etc. HP umpire confers with his partner and his partner agrees he leaned into it. HP umpire brings him back to the plate. Batter get in the box and asks the HP umpire what's the count? He's told 3 and 0. Next pitch a strike and the defensive team comes out on the field to celebrate the victory. HP umpire finds out the count was 2 and 2 and not 3 and 0. Game over.

Can this be fixed or is the game over? Definitely an injustice here.
The PU should not have solicited help from his partner. Not his call. However, since he did, and overturned the call, the PU has to know what the new count is. He shouldn't be guessing at this point. The batter must bear some responsibility too, as he had to know that he had two strikes on him when he leaned into the pitch. When he heard the umpire give him an obviously wrong count, he should have questioned it and not take advantage of the situation. Somebody was bound to have the right count, so what was to be gained by trying to cheat?

Therefore, I don't see any injustice, but in fact just the opposite. Justice was served, as the batter tried to cheat not only once by leaning into a pitch, but then again by pretending he had a 3-0 count. His coach should rip him a new one for not knowing the count (or pretending not to) and taking one down the chute for strike three.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25

Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Tue Apr 03, 2012 at 01:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
I agree PU SHOULD NOT have consulted his partner. Live with your call and play on. From the players perspective. Your hit by a pitch and standing on first. Meanwhile this discussion goes on perhaps for 5 minutes. Now your back at the plate. I can see him forgetting the count. I also agree that EVERYONE has a responsibility to know the situation. The greater responiblity falls on the officials. In this situation wrong information has been given out by the official that has put the batter at a disadvantge. Just seems unfair to me that the game is over. As an aside I love hearing about cluster ****s as long as it doesn't involve me. I file it in the don't ever do this drawer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 03, 2012, 03:20pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I don't know about you, but after sending a runner to first, conferring with partner (which I shouldn't have done), retrieving the runner, and likely dealing with an irate coach, you can be dang sure I'm checking my clicker with the scorekeeper and/or partner before we reset.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
could I have fixed this? tcosmo Basketball 24 Tue Mar 03, 2009 01:14pm
Top 10 Signs An NBA Game Is Fixed Mark Padgett Basketball 30 Tue Jun 17, 2008 02:50pm
Correctable error fixed during halftime of Big East game Nevadaref Basketball 19 Fri Mar 07, 2008 02:16pm
Can this be fixed? jprideaux Baseball 12 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1