The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Unhappy could I have fixed this?

No home book being kept. Home team Coach ok with visiting team keeping the book. Inexpierenced clock person (trouble with posession all game).
5th grade tournament. Tie game 39-39 8.9 left on clock, Blue calls time out after a red make. Time out awarded. coming out of time out ball is inbounded to red and they score 39-41, blue inbounds after make and time runs out. game over. Blue Coach protests. There are no options? right? Game over my mistake. Even the director of the tournament has no options, except to learn from the bad call and possibly put rules to mandate there be a rep at the table to help the Blue coach.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:12pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
nah, once it has been inbounded and especially after a made basket then de nada. Too bad, but it does happen even at higher levels.
If you realize you made a mistake blow the whistle even if the ball is live because the coaches won't mind the ball going to the team it is supposed to BUT DO IT BEFORE A shot/BASKET!

what does this mean, I assume you are saying you gave the ball to red when it should have been blue
?"Even the director of the tournament has no options, except to learn from the bad call and possibly put rules to mandate there be a rep at the table to help the Blue coach.
Reply With Quote
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcosmo View Post
No home book being kept. Home team Coach ok with visiting team keeping the book. Inexpierenced clock person (trouble with posession all game).
5th grade tournament. Tie game 39-39 8.9 left on clock, Blue calls time out after a red make. Time out awarded. coming out of time out ball is inbounded to red and they score 39-41, blue inbounds after make and time runs out. game over. Blue Coach protests. There are no options? right? Game over my mistake. Even the director of the tournament has no options, except to learn from the bad call and possibly put rules to mandate there be a rep at the table to help the Blue coach.
Blue called timeout after Red scored to make it a tie game and they couldn't remember out of the timeout that they were supposed to have the ball?
And they think changing the rules is the solution?
________
The Legend Condominium Cosy Beach

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
nah, once it has been inbounded and especially after a made basket then de nada. Too bad, but it does happen even at higher levels.
If you realize you made a mistake blow the whistle even if the ball is live because the coaches won't mind the ball going to the team it is supposed to BUT DO IT BEFORE A shot/BASKET!

what does this mean, I assume you are saying you gave the ball to red when it should have been blue
?"Even the director of the tournament has no options, except to learn from the bad call and possibly put rules to mandate there be a rep at the table to help the Blue coach.
Reply With Quote
Because blue coach appealed to the director and is putting much of the blame on her and i believe she made the right call. game over sorry it will not happen again or it may have been prevented if you had a book keeper on your side. therefor mandating next time that every team will keep there own book. Thanks for your reply.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 09:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
If you realize you made a mistake blow the whistle even if the ball is live because the coaches won't mind the ball going to the team it is supposed to BUT DO IT BEFORE A shot/BASKET!
Sorry but that's just plain wrong. Once the throw-in ends, you can't changed a thing. You screwed up. Learn from it and move on.

THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 10:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,024
Just Kicked It, Plain And Simple ...

I'm confused. How would having a representative at the table help this situation?

The officials just kicked it. We can go to camps, and clinics, and pregame, and communicate, and have good eye contact, and hold the ball on one side of our body to help us remember the direction, and remember to be live during a dead ball, but sometimes a player from the wrong team steps out of bounds, and you hand him the ball. Why? Because he's there. It happens to a few of the best of us, rarely, but it does happen. Learn from it, and hope that it never happens again.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 10:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
New category this year

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I'm confused. How would having a representative at the table help this situation?
Question of the day, my friend.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,583
Nobody will like this answer........

but if it's a fifth grade game, especially if it has any deviation from normal rules, (limits on pressing, etc.) especially if any of the officials are less than certified, especially if this happens with the game on the line, put the time back on the clock, and give it to the right team.

What does the book have to do with any of this?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
You're right. No one will like it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
but if it's a fifth grade game, especially if it has any deviation from normal rules, (limits on pressing, etc.) especially if any of the officials are less than certified, especially if this happens with the game on the line, put the time back on the clock, and give it to the right team.

What does the book have to do with any of this?
So you are saying that it is okay do it wrong because it's just a kiddie game?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You're right. No one will like it.
Old School would.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:34pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official.


Yeah, I know the rule but if I made a mistake like that I'm going to correct it and I really don't think the coaches and players will mind. But before a shot or let it be. The alternative could be letting the wrong team inbounds and score which would be a bigger mistake.

Especially if you are working by yourself which the ref may have been doing in a grade school game. Always important to know and check who has the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official.


Yeah, I know the rule but if I made a mistake like that I'm going to correct it and I really don't think the coaches and players will mind. But before a shot or let it be. The alternative could be letting the wrong team inbounds and score which would be a bigger mistake.

Especially if you are working by yourself which the ref may have been doing in a grade school game. Always important to know and check who has the ball.
Nothing worse than an official who purposely sets aside a rule. People are okay with someone making a mistake, but I can't see anyone backing an official who purposely does something wrong.

If I were the coach who you were screwing, I certainly would mind.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:40pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
So you are saying that it is okay do it wrong because it's just a kiddie game?
Do you call traveling the same in a small kids game as you do in a varsity game?

Certain things just don't work in games at this level. A huge percentage of the time, despite any number of warnings, kids this age will step over the line on a throw-in, so we have adjusted the rule and don't call the violation unless they step over with both feet. Kids this age, after a made basket, if nobody stays to help, will frown, then just dribble the ball in themselves. Instead of calling this violation, we blow the whistle and make them do it over correctly. In the play at hand, I doubt seriously any deception was involved, it was just a matter of the first kid to step up, stepped out of bounds and was rewarded with the ball. If you are an inexperienced official, you may not be at all familiar with a rule like this. If you are a veteran, experienced official, the kids will tend to drag you down to their level, which is not altogether a bad thing. There probably weren't three people in the building that knew what the rulebook says in this case. Sometimes you do what is best for the level you are working. This is what I would have done.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
Should a college official take that same attitude when working a HS game?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top 10 Signs An NBA Game Is Fixed Mark Padgett Basketball 30 Tue Jun 17, 2008 02:50pm
Correctable error fixed during halftime of Big East game Nevadaref Basketball 19 Fri Mar 07, 2008 02:16pm
Can this be fixed? jprideaux Baseball 12 Fri Jul 09, 2004 10:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1