The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2015, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
This is a false double foul situation, as there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first. Penalties are administered in the order the fouls occur and the ball is put in play according to the penalty for the second foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2015, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by La Rikardo View Post
This is a false double foul situation, as there are fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first. Penalties are administered in the order the fouls occur and the ball is put in play according to the penalty for the second foul.
Yes. Or in HokiePaul's case, a false multiple foul. Same end result in terms of putting the ball in play according to the penalty for the second foul (because in NFHS, all penalties are administered in the order in which they occur).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 26, 2016, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
The same situation as the OP came up in my game today. Looks like we got it wrong as we counted the first FT but did not allow the second FT of the initial sequence.

Can anyone find and/or quote a case play? I can't seem to find one in the current book.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 26, 2016, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
The same situation as the OP came up in my game today. Looks like we got it wrong as we counted the first FT but did not allow the second FT of the initial sequence.

Can anyone find and/or quote a case play? I can't seem to find one in the current book.
You don't need a case play. What scenario allows you to rescind a legally awarded FT? (it's rhetorical, the answer is none).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 26, 2016, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
You don't need a case play. What scenario allows you to rescind a legally awarded FT? (it's rhetorical, the answer is none).


Thank you. My question stands though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 27, 2016, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
It's not a case play, but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule 10 Penalties Summary
7. In case of a false double foul or a false multiple foul, each foul carries its own penalty.
As deecee said, nothing tells you to cancel or rescind the penalty in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 27, 2016, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Thank you. My question stands though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
5.6.2h is similar but not same. A is winning 61 to 60 and B fouls A1 in ACT of shooting as time expires. A coach runs/screams at referees. T called.

A will now shoot 2 FTs for the shooting foul by B1. (they aren't taken away by the idiot coach foul). The play is in the book to show game isnt over etc til officials leave floor. If coach A doesnt act like idiot we report the foul and leave. Dont shoot the FTs. It does answer your question a bit...you dont cancel any FTs because that team commits a foul. Finish penalizing the first and then move to the next one.

Last edited by BigCat; Sun Nov 27, 2016 at 03:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 27, 2016, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Thank you. My question stands though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You're not going to find one. What do you do after the first of 2 FT's the coach for the team shooting the FT's comments that your officiating skill is similar to bovine excrement? Just because it was a player committing a foul doesn't change that we adjudicate in the order things happen to completion.

In reality (I am guessing this was either a lower level game or a girls game) because I know the ball is live during the FT but this just doesn't happen. In reality the first time this contact happens it's ignored unless it's an intentional or flagrant, and the kid would be told to cut that crap off. This is also all prevented when the lead is assertive in his FT mechanics.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 27, 2016, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
In reality (I am guessing this was either a lower level game or a girls game) because I know the ball is live during the FT but this just doesn't happen. In reality the first time this contact happens it's ignored unless it's an intentional or flagrant, and the kid would be told to cut that crap off. This is also all prevented when the lead is assertive in his FT mechanics.
Shouldn't matter what level of ball it was. The fact is that a foul happened while the ball is in flight. A2 displaced B1 to create a clear advantage for a potential rebound. Not something I think can be ignored.

The lead (me, in this situation) can say "Go in straight up" or whatever I damn well please until I'm blue in the face...we all know that they don't always listen to what we say.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul during the free throw moref Basketball 3 Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:11am
can a teammate of the thrower reach across the throw in plane? rsl Basketball 7 Thu Nov 15, 2012 09:17am
foul on free throw bigwhistle Basketball 24 Thu Jan 12, 2006 02:35pm
Double foul while the try is in flight Jay R Basketball 19 Tue Oct 19, 2004 07:58am
foul off the ball while shot is in the flight timharris Basketball 6 Sun Dec 08, 2002 08:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1