The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 17, 2015, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich1 View Post
I've been pondering this whole discussion and will share more thoughts in another post, but based on these deep ponderings:

No violation in a) since B1 was last to touch. Start a new 10 count as soon as ball obtains BC status.

Violation in b) if Team A is first to touch in BC.

Why would you have those as different? Either you believe the interp and they are both a violation, or you don't believe the interp and they are both legal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 276
Oops

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why would you have those as different? Either you believe the interp and they are both a violation, or you don't believe the interp and they are both legal.
Because I misread your post and thought A2 was standing in the FC. After looking at it again, it would nt matter which member of Team A touches the ball since it was last touched in the FC by Team B.


Both would be legal and a 10 second count starts as soon as the ball attains BC status.
__________________
Its not enough to know the rules and apply them correctly. You must know how to explain it to others!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 03:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why would you have those as different? Either you believe the interp and they are both a violation, or you don't believe the interp and they are both legal.
However, if you consider that A1 is in the middle of the dribble, is the ball really ever in the frontcourt just because B touches it from the frontcourt?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 03:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
However, if you consider that A1 is in the middle of the dribble, is the ball really ever in the frontcourt just because B touches it from the frontcourt?
The touch by B ends the dribble. At that moment, the action changes from a player progressing from BC to FC, in which all 3 points must touch in the FC for the player and ball to be in FC, to the simpler cosideration of BC/FC status of the ball and player.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 03:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
The touch by B ends the dribble. At that moment, the action changes from a player progressing from BC to FC, in which all 3 points must touch in the FC for the player and ball to be in FC, to the simpler cosideration of BC/FC status of the ball and player.
Does it? By what rule?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 03:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Does it? By what rule?
4-15-4 d . . . The dribble ends when: the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

Am I misunderstanding that statement, in your estimation?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
4-15-4 d . . . The dribble ends when: the ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

Am I misunderstanding that statement, in your estimation?
Exactly, the touch by B alone doesn't cause the dribble to end. That touch must also cause A to lose control. And the OP didn't say that the dribbler lost control in the play. It could have been, but it is not a given.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 18, 2015, 02:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Exactly, the touch by B alone doesn't cause the dribble to end. That touch must also cause A to lose control. And the OP didn't say that the dribbler lost control in the play. It could have been, but it is not a given.
The scenario is more than a touch, B1 is knocking the ball into another player. This dribble is over.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Court Violation ? trsandy Basketball 23 Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:34pm
yet another back court violation sny1120 Basketball 3 Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:08pm
Back Court Violation Ricejock Basketball 16 Sun Jan 30, 2005 06:12am
back court violation? smoref Basketball 32 Fri Nov 21, 2003 09:36am
Back court violation? Cyber-Ref Basketball 7 Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1