![]() |
|
|
|||
ha, I was just about to ask that too. I'm thinking violation. that would be interesting.
Also, I suppose this not a violation? Player makes a bounce pass, so it hits out of bounds(in front of the passer) first then inbounds. |
|
|||
Quote:
Wrong on both counts. Now please return to your JV girls game in which players will be awarded FTs when fouled after the act of shooting has ended. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Nevada: Would you agree that the above play in red is really no different that if A1's inbounds pass to A2 was a bounce pass that after leaving A1's hands touched out-of-bounds before crossing through the boundary line plane and therefore is a throw-in violation by A1? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
A1's throw-in bounce pass was roughly parallel to the sideline and bounced out of bounds before A2 grabbed it downstream on the inbounds side of the plane. Honestly, I ruled violation because it didn't "look" right. I later checked the rulebook and I think I was right because the throw-in wasn't released "directly" into the court. But does this "directly" clause infer that the ball cannot touch out of bounds on the way in? I'm not sure. Or is there a different interpretation that I'm not considering? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
I do find it interesting that the ruling on the FT (immediate violation) is different from the ruling on a throw-in (wait until 5 or a violation). Many of the same options (specifically a TO) are, in theory, available to the team. |
|
|||
Quote:
whether i dribble or fumble--if I'm staying in my semicircle to get ball back i should be ok…? on the throw in play it says player has the ball and then fumbles it and leaves the spot to retrieve it. violation for that clearly. we are talking about still counting to 5 if he stays in the designated spot. perhaps when the ball bounces far enough away that it clearly can't be retrieved by the thrower in with a foot over the designated spot a violation should be called? that would be a way to reconcile the two plays. i havnt thought it through so there may be holes in that thought. Last edited by BigCat; Tue Jan 13, 2015 at 12:15pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fumble on throw in and free throw | billyu2 | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm |
Throw in after T... | Chess Ref | Basketball | 20 | Sat Nov 21, 2009 10:53am |
throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |