The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dixie
Posts: 71
Another wrong team question

A/P throw in for Team A. Official mistakenly allows B1 to step out for the throw-in and he completes the throw-in to B2. Anything preventing switching the arrow to B?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
If the officials recognize that the error occurred after the throw-in ended, then it's too late to make a correction. The arrow should remain with Team A and it should have the next opportunity to make an AP throw-in.

See case 6.4.1 Situation D(a), which isn't exactly the same but uses the same logic sequence.

Last edited by crosscountry55; Sun Jan 04, 2015 at 02:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 03:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Three In A Row ??? No Way ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
A/P throw in for Team A. Official mistakenly allows B1 to step out for the throw-in and he completes the throw-in to B2. Anything preventing switching the arrow to B?
Yes. A riot, and several technical fouls. Possibly a forfeited game. Plus, a lot of ejection reports that the referee has to file with the state office. Possibly, a keyed car, and a few slashed tires, in the parking lot. No cold bottled water after the game. Don't expect the showers to have any hot water. No Christmas card from the coach next season. Probably not getting that coach's vote for the state tournament. At least you won't be going back there anymore in this lifetime.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 04, 2015 at 07:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 08:30pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Whitten View Post
A/P throw in for Team A. Official mistakenly allows B1 to step out for the throw-in and he completes the throw-in to B2. Anything preventing switching the arrow to B?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Yes. A riot, and several technical fouls. Possibly a forfeited game. Plus, a lot of ejection reports that the referee has to file with the state office. Possibly, a keyed car, and a few slashed tires, in the parking lot. No cold bottled water after the game. Don't expect the showers to have any hot water. No Christmas card from the coach next season. Probably not getting that coach's vote for the state tournament. At least you won't be going back there anymore in this lifetime.

First, we want to apply:

NHFS Casebook Play 6.4.1 Situation D(a): It is Team B's turn for the next throw-in under the alternation possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A commits a throw-in violation. RULING: Once the throw-in ends it is too late to change anything. The throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession.


Therefore, in the OP, the AP Throw-in ended when it was legally touched by B2. But Team A will retain the AP Arrow. And you can tell Team A's HC that his team is going to get two of the next three AP Arrows.

And Billy is probably correct. LOL!

There is something to be said to putting the Ball back into play with a Jump Ball, .

MTD, Sr.


P.S. The Caseball Play had Teams A and B reversed from the OP and I switched them around in my mind while composing my OP.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Sun Jan 04, 2015 at 08:51pm. Reason: Correction in red and added P.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 08:42pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
mark, the case play you cited does not support the ruling you typed below it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Jan 04, 2015 at 10:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 08:51pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
mark, the case place you cited does not support the ruling you typed below it.

DOH!! I was watching TV and eating dinner with the Better Half and didn't pay attention to the fact the Teams A and B were the opposite in the Casebook Play from the OP. I corrected my OP.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Therefore, in the OP, the AP Throw-in ended when it was legally touched by B2. The AP Arrow will be reversed to Team B. And you cannot even tell Team A's HC that is team is going to get two of the next three AP Arrows.
Not correct according to an NFHS ruling which states that a team should not be awarded consecutive AP throw-ins if the officials are aware of it. However, I can't seem to locate that ruling at this time!

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jan 04, 2015 at 09:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 08:59pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not correct according to this NFHS ruling:

Read my correction and my response to BadNewsRef.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 04, 2015, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dixie
Posts: 71
When the ball is legally touched inbounds isn't the arrow required to be switched? I agree it is logical that a team is not allowed consecutive A/P throws in, but where may I find that reference?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did Team A do anything wrong? Zoochy Basketball 27 Mon Mar 03, 2014 01:55pm
You put it down, wrong team picks it up BayStateRef Basketball 23 Wed Mar 25, 2009 03:57pm
Wrong team inbounds just another ref Basketball 18 Mon Jan 05, 2009 05:39pm
Ball to the wrong team jmaellis Basketball 9 Thu Jan 24, 2008 08:16am
Wrong team throws in ReadyToRef Basketball 1 Wed Apr 17, 2002 08:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1