![]() |
|
|||
Wrong team inbounds
This is one of those that we all know is wrong, but it sure looks right when you see it happen. Black knocked the ball out. Everybody knew it. Official called it and signaled correctly. Then, the next thing we know, black has the ball, dribbling past white's bench. This, as you might expect, brought a reaction from white's coach. "Whoa, wait a minute! It's our ball!" Official blew the whistle, went back to the end line, and gave the ball back to white. Most rules, I at least understand the theory, but this one? If this is caught before there is a change in team control, why would this not be a good one to add to the correctable error list.
Also, for those who wouldn't T the guy for being in the middle of the court trying to get his timeout, "because of our mistake," I imagine you would often get the opportunity to call one here. Would you also pass on this one?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE *7.5.2 SITUATION A: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1’s disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends. Would you T the opposing coach for complaining, if he knew the rule and was aware that you were screwing his team? Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jan 04, 2009 at 07:11pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
There are many different forms of "complaining."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Sun Jan 04, 2009 at 08:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the OP, I did not notice any reaction from black's coach.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Once when I coaching I sent in a sub between two free throws. We made the second and the sub, who must not have had her head in the game, grabbed the ball and took it out. An opponent was there too but she decided she was wrong so she backed off. We threw it in to a senior who knew which end was which, and she SHOT AND MISSED TWICE before the officials realized something was wrong. They whistled it and gave it back to our opponents.
Is anyone saying they would, in the above situation having recognized the problem at the same time as the officials in my game, let the play go and watch us continue to shoot and maybe even score?
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out. -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
Having the wrong team inbound the ball after a basket is different from having the wrong team inbound the ball after a violation (or foul). On one it's too late to correct; on the other it isn't. |
|
|||
That is a fair difference between the two situations. Now I've got to ask the next question: When would it be too late to correct the situation I described? If one of the first two shot attempts went in, could those points come off the board?
__________________
Things turn out best for people who make the best of the way things turn out. -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Awarding an unmerited free throw is a correctable error. Fix it within the usual time-frame for correctable errors, including removing points from unmerited free-throws..
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
||||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Huh?
This isn't a correctable error. Once the inbounds is completed, I don't know of any rule that allows us to correct it, whether its from a foul, violation or made basket. If you have a rule reference, I'd like to have it so I could read it and improve my understanding.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball to the wrong team | jmaellis | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 08:16am |
Throw-In by Wrong Team | Sven | Basketball | 4 | Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:28am |
Wrong team gets ball | Jim Henry | Basketball | 38 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:34am |
Wrong team throws in | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 1 | Wed Apr 17, 2002 08:44am |
Wrong team inbounding | ReadyToRef | Basketball | 14 | Tue Apr 02, 2002 10:06pm |