![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Agreed Hokie.
If this happens to me, and I hope it doesn't as I've never had a situation like it. But if I know some time has elapsed, then I will take the conservative approach. So if I think 5 seconds have gone off, then I'll take 3 seconds off. You know the clock was stopped at a certain time. You know the ball was inbounded and dribbled. Time had to have gone off. It would be absurd in this situation not to take some time off. |
|
|||
|
but logically I think it would be far better to take some time off. And I think there would be less of a problem as well. I doubt anyone would care.
For me I think option 2 would be far better and would be much more agreeable to everyone involved in the game. Option 1- Sorry coach, we can't take time off the game even though clearly time did elapse because we don't have definite knowledge how much time went . Option 2- Coach, we don't know how much time went off, but we think at least 3 seconds went off so we are going to take that off the clock. I don't always go by the rulebook if a situation doesn't call for it. (Of course 99.9% of the times you should!!!) I had one of my first blarge calls earlier this season, and just called both coaches over who saw that the play could have gone either way. The game was running well and we just told them instead of working that out we will just say two( ha) inadvertent whistles and did POI. Both coaches were good with it as both wanted to avoid fouls on their key players involved in the play. Quick clear-up and things worked out well after. Yes, normally I would call it by the book here, but this was a game with good coaches and players where it could have been avoided without the blarge mess. Last edited by mutantducky; Tue Dec 30, 2014 at 02:33pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Agreed. Of all the possible ways to implement a blarge, that is perhaps the absolute worst.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
As far as using a visible count at the end of the quarter, I don't. I don't feel the need to prove it to anybody, and what if the guy with the ball sees it and wrongly assumes it's a closely guarded count.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
||||
|
And you don't have to (prove it). That's a personal preference for me, because I may well end the quarter with 3 seconds on the clock. If I'm going to do something no one in the gym has likely ever seen happen, I just prefer to have as much back-up as possible.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is so much wrong here. The only thing I'll say is officiate as if every game of yours is being recorded and could end up on YouTube. Do you want to be seen on tape misapplying a rule? You (and your partner) have already screwed up mechanically...don't **** it up even more with a rules misapplication.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd be following the rule that states "an official's count or other official information may be used to make a correction" and that a timing mistake can be corrected when the official "has definite information relative to the time involved". The "official information" is that the ball was legally touched inbounds and some time has elapsed. The "definate information" is what I would get with my partners to determine ... specifically that "definitly at least X seconds had elapsed". A visible count is not necessary. If I'm observing a play and determine that a player was holding the ball but not-closely guarded for 3 seconds, passed the ball to a teammate who then shot, I have definite information that at least 3 seconds have elapsed, even though I did not have a visible count because the player was not closely guarded. I'd be going to my assignor saying that I had definate knowledge that at least 3 seconds had elapsed and I used that knowledge to correct an obvious timing mistake. How is that incorrect by rule? Last edited by HokiePaul; Tue Dec 30, 2014 at 02:46pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
5-10 ART. 1 The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved. The exact time observed by the official may be placed on the clock.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
|
|||
|
I really don't understand why some posters are going through contortions about what they will do without a count in game end situations to distort their guesses into something besides a guess when there is a very simple solution, which I believe was mentioned dozens of posts ago.
When in the end game situation, if youaren't responsible for a count, simply count as a backstop to the official timer until you know the clock actually started. Am I missing something here? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
||||
|
Quote:
In the middle of the quarter, I just want the timer to start the clock in a reasonable amount of time. End of a quarter, I'll be more strict.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Test Question | tw1ns | Baseball | 7 | Sat Apr 16, 2011 06:15pm |
| Test Question | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 14, 2005 09:52pm |
| Test question | just another ref | Basketball | 6 | Thu Nov 10, 2005 08:24am |
| Question About the Test | ref18 | Basketball | 17 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36am |
| Question RE: Fed Test | 1231234 | Softball | 3 | Fri Feb 25, 2005 09:13am |