The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 04:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
...


Question: Would this be a correctable error for erroneously counting or cancelling a score?

I'm thinking of the scenario where the calling official waves off the shot. The coach asks to correct within the allowable time. And the officials discuss and agree that the foul occured after the release.
If they disallowed the basket by misapplying the rule, yes it is correctable. If it was just a matter of the calling official saying that the foul occurred first, then changing his mind later, no it's just bad judgment and we can't go back an fix it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Seems to me it's entirely possible the foul happened first - why else would he be emphatic about it. Since you didn't discuss it, how do you know. You say it's obvious the shot was first ... but if the shot was in your primary, and the foul in his ... how do you know? (And is it possible the foul he's calling was significantly earlier than whatever you THOUGHT he was calling ... again, in HIS primary, and not where you would be looking with a 3-pointer about to go up).

At the VERY least, while the timing was obvious to you, perhaps it was equally obvious (but opposite) to him...

I'm also curious to the exact situation regarding him not wanting to talk about it. Did you try? How? What did he say? Etc.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 82
Quote:
The ball went in -- the basket should count unless your foul occured before the release of the ball
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 04:47pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.


I am not sure what you are trying to say, but:

If the contact occured before the release and then the horn sounds before the release of the ball, the ball becomes dead when the horn sounds. Award two or three FTs depending upon the type of FG attempt. The official's whistle has no bearing on the play except to indicate that a Foul or Violation has occured.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 82
where does the post talk about the horn being involved? It is about a called foul on the release of a shot, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 05:03pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I am not sure what you are trying to say, but:

If the contact occured before the release and then the horn sounds before the release of the ball, the ball becomes dead when the horn sounds. Award two or three FTs depending upon the type of FG attempt. The official's whistle has no bearing on the play except to indicate that a Foul or Violation has occured.

MTD, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
where does the post talk about the horn being involved? It is about a called foul on the release of a shot, correct?

I got ahead of myself and forgot that the OP was not an End of Period scenario. But your statement, which I have highlighted in red is incorrect. As I stated in my OP is that the whistle is a signal to let everybody know that a Foul or Violation has occured. The whistle is always sounded after the fact.

A1 attempts a 3-point FG. If: a) A5 commits a foul before A1 releases the ball A5's foul causes the ball to become Dead immediately, even if the official does not sound his whistle until after A1 releases the ball; and b) if A5 commits a foul after A1 releases the ball, the ball remains Live until the shot is successful or unsuccessful even when the official sounds his whistle.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 18, 2014, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
In all seriousness, lol @ your partner " waving arms like a windmill" to wipe the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
First...to MD Longhorn,

The only way I have any idea about what my partner called was due to the initial report after his whistle and actions. While you are correct that I did not see the foul he called because I was on the three-point shooter it is equally true that he should have no idea if the shot should have counted because he should have (apparently was) focused on the action in the lane. I know for a fact that I heard his whistle a split second before the arching shot hit the net. I usually do not have a count during the flight of a shot so I do not know how long it was after the shot...my guess is a second or two.

As I said, he was so emphatic and demonstrative that, given the lop sided nature of the game, I chose not to go to him and discuss it then. It everyone wants to get onto me for that failing I will take it. If it would have been a tight game I would have certainly gone to him when everything unfolded.

This guy didn't like to talk...period. Having a pre-game was like pulling teeth. If he said 10 words I would be surprised. After a couple of points and it being obvious he didn't want to contribute I approached it by saying the approach I normally take (talking to the players early, strictly calling the hands on the dribbler from the start, etc.). He just nodded.

Afterwards I said I wanted to discuss the play and he said "Nothing to discuss." I asked a couple of questions about the situation in theory (don't remember the exact wording) and he just kept changing clothes without acknowledging my presence.

Tonight I will look in the books (rule and case) to see exactly when the ball would have become dead and study the relevant examples.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatteryPowered View Post
Tonight I will look in the books (rule and case) to see exactly when the ball would have become dead and study the relevant examples.
Basketball Fundamentals:

3. A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through unless canceled by a throw-in violation or a player-control foul.

16. The official’s whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead (it is already dead).

ART. 7

The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below).

ART. 9

The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A violation, as in Rule 9, Sections 2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:

a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.

b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.

c. Article 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting) before the foul occurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap, and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or body movements used by the player when throwing the ball at his/her basket.

d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 9-13-1, occurs by an opponent.

NOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the period ends before or after the legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending by A, no points are scored. If B violates, the points are awarded - either two or three depending on whether it was a two or three-point try or tap.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatteryPowered View Post
First...to MD Longhorn,

The only way I have any idea about what my partner called was due to the initial report after his whistle and actions. While you are correct that I did not see the foul he called because I was on the three-point shooter it is equally true that he should have no idea if the shot should have counted because he should have (apparently was) focused on the action in the lane. I know for a fact that I heard his whistle a split second before the arching shot hit the net. I usually do not have a count during the flight of a shot so I do not know how long it was after the shot...my guess is a second or two.

As I said, he was so emphatic and demonstrative that, given the lop sided nature of the game, I chose not to go to him and discuss it then. It everyone wants to get onto me for that failing I will take it. If it would have been a tight game I would have certainly gone to him when everything unfolded.

This guy didn't like to talk...period. Having a pre-game was like pulling teeth. If he said 10 words I would be surprised. After a couple of points and it being obvious he didn't want to contribute I approached it by saying the approach I normally take (talking to the players early, strictly calling the hands on the dribbler from the start, etc.). He just nodded.

Afterwards I said I wanted to discuss the play and he said "Nothing to discuss." I asked a couple of questions about the situation in theory (don't remember the exact wording) and he just kept changing clothes without acknowledging my presence.

Tonight I will look in the books (rule and case) to see exactly when the ball would have become dead and study the relevant examples.
I would have handled the entire situation just as you did.
Let him make this determination as he is the one who called the foul and he didn't want any input from you about anything over the course of the entire game.
There is a reason that your assignor has him working blow-out girls games. Unfortunate that you had to deal with him as a partner. No fun.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.
Disagree. It's when the foul happens.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 06:38pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.
I'm sorry, but this is just wrong. The ball is dead when the foul occurs, not when it is called.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2014, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by paxsonref View Post
This is incorrect. It does not matter when the foul occurs, it matters when the foul is CALLED. If the whistle has not blown, a foul has not happened, therefore when this play happens, if its in the air when the whistle blows, count it, regardless of when the illegal contact started.
Not true. You should consult some of the RULES FUNDAMENTALS on page 73.

#16 "The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead (it is already dead)."

#3 "A goal is made when a live ball enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through unless canceled by a throw-in violation or a player-control foul."

#13 "A live-ball foul by the offense (team in control or last in control if the ball is loose), or the expiration of time for a quarter or extra period, causes the ball to become dead immediately, unless the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. The ball also becomes dead when a player-control foul occurs.

So it is the moment of the foul that makes the ball dead, not the when the whistle blows. If the try is not yet in flight at the time of the foul, then the ball would become dead and there would be no goal as a dead ball, not a live ball, entered the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
count the basket or not scat03 Basketball 28 Wed Nov 19, 2008 05:55am
Would basket count? dknick78 Basketball 12 Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:36am
Should This Basket Count? drothamel Basketball 9 Thu Nov 17, 2005 03:53pm
count the basket? Dave Birch Basketball 7 Mon Dec 04, 2000 11:31pm
count the basket or not? Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 9 Sat Nov 04, 2000 05:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1