The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 149
A1 goes up for a layup. After the ball has clearly left his hand for the basket, he continues on airborne and intentionally slaps the backboard hard. A technical is immediately called. The ball went through the basket--Do you cancel the basket or is the basket good since the ball had left the shooter's hand prior to the T being called?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,416
Basket counts.

A shot in the air can only be made dead by a player control foul (which a technical is not) or goaltending or basket interference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 962
Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
So count the basket, go to the other end shoot two shots and the ball goes to B at mid court opposite the table.

How would this one be handled under the new NCAA rules?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 05:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question College backboards

Tim,
I could find nothing about hitting the backboard being a technical, or interference unless the ball is in that cylinder.
Could be there, but I can't find any reference.
mick


Found this 10.3.14 Technical Foul - Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing either the backboard or ring to vibrate while the ball is in flight during a try, or while the ball is touching the backboard, is on or in the basket or in the cylinder

[Edited by mick on Nov 3rd, 2000 at 04:34 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,820
Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Roden
So count the basket, go to the other end shoot two shots and the ball goes to B at mid court opposite the table.

How would this one be handled under the new NCAA rules?
B gets one shot, and the ball back at the end line. THe foul does not count toward the player's or team's totals (but it is one of the three indirects the player can get).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 05:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question Ref?

Where is that Bob? Thanks.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 09:40pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,222
Question Was this not the case.......

that Bobby Knight and Teddy Valentine got into? I know that they NCAA changed the rule because of it, but what about the NF rule. I think that the ball does not count. But I need to look this up further to see for cetain.
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2000, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Was this not the case.......

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
that Bobby Knight and Teddy Valentine got into? I know that they NCAA changed the rule because of it, but what about the NF rule. I think that the ball does not count. But I need to look this up further to see for certain.
Nope, the case you are thinking of had to do with a
player yanking down the ring & potentially causing
a shot to miss. It is found in 4-4-2:

"Basket interference also occurs when a movable basket
ring is pulled down by a player so that it contacts the
ball before the ring returns to its original position."

(Recall BI was only the call if the basket or ball was
touched while the ball was in or on the basket.)

Knight swore 2 points should be awarded, Valentine et al
had it right but this rule was added the following
year.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2000, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,820
Re: Ref?

Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Where is that Bob? Thanks.
mick
NCAA 10-3-14

Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
I know that they NCAA changed the rule because of it, but what about the NF rule. I think that the ball does not count. But I need to look this up further to see for cetain.
Once the ball has been released on a shot (try), it does not become dead when any foul, including a technical, occurs. Under Fed, the basket counts, B gets two shots and the ball at mid-court, the foul counts against A1 (or whoever it was that committed the infraction) and toward the team total.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 04, 2000, 05:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Re: Re: Ref?

[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Where is that Bob? Thanks.
mick
NCAA 10-3-14

Bob,
I had found that rule.
I thought the case in question had the ball going through, and then, there was a backboard slap.
I must've read funny again.
mick





[Edited by mick on Nov 4th, 2000 at 04:38 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1