![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
No. It is the attempt to gain and advantage that is the infraction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
one part of the rule says may not "grasp" or grab basket. except to prevent injury. just below another section says you can't place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 21, 2014 at 02:53pm. |
|
|||
|
I think you could make a case that he is grabbing the rim not to go flying and get hurt. But if he tries to grab the ball and grabbing the rim at the same time, you could make a case this is a T. The question I have is does he really even make a play on the ball. He might have tried to do just that, but I would not likely make this call without some clear evidence he actually made a play on the ball.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know I had two of these plays take place last year where the ball was grabbed as well and I called a T in both cases. This looks more like a "miss" attempt and there was a player under him on some level. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
while grabbing to prevent injury he also caught a pass…with one hand. I'm not sure that's an advantage…better using two hands and have better balance etc… the play i describe is extreme but the play in the video made me think…(which is always dangerous.).. what if the player kept going under him and hit his legs, he grabs rim for safety and the ball is right there. just like it was in the video. he grabs it, the ball out of reflex etc. are you going to whack him for it... Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 21, 2014 at 02:44pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Can offens grab facemask | umpjim | Football | 30 | Tue Sep 23, 2014 03:10pm |
| Grab water during live ball | MelbRef | Basketball | 29 | Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:11pm |
| An alley-oop that went wrong | Rich | Basketball | 0 | Tue Feb 16, 2010 03:43pm |
| Self Alley-Oop? | Larks | Basketball | 9 | Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:04am |
| Alley-oop...foul? | jcurtin | Basketball | 2 | Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:49am |