The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 10:13am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,883
Alley Oop & Rim Grab (video)

Legal rim grab?



Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
From the angle shown, it appears as though the ring was grabbed with the right hand before the ball arrived. I can see a "T".
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Iron City, TN
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to reffish
No, technical on player for hanging on rim to gain an advantage.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 11:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,373
Technically we could have a technical for hanging on the rim to gain an advantage once he made a play on the ball. But I'm fine with the no-call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 11:18am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
If the fact he grabbed the rim had any bearing on what happened during or afterwards, then I'd be on the side of t-ing him up. But since nothing happened I'm cool with a no-call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,742
He didn't grab the rim for safety, IMO. It was close, however. I think he grabbed it for an advantage. This could be called a T but it is close.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 12:07pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,507
Not for safety. Technical.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 01:12pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 963
I think we can all agree this is not BI or GT as the coach wants.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 01:15pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
I'm surprised nobody pointed out the error of my ways...

I shouldn't "no-call" it because of the lack of advantage or effect on the play, as I don't believe the rule takes either into account. The player grabbed the rim illegally, and should be t'd up for it.

If a player on the other team grabbed the rim illegally, but for a bit longer, and got t'd up I could have a bad situation on my hands. Where the coach could get upset because I let a player on the other team get away with it, and an explanation of "well you're guy grabbed it longer" will not fly at all.

I tech should be called.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
i think it is close just because that other player is backing in. i can't tell how close he actually got. I'm ok with a T and be ok without one.

let me ask you this… suppose the player is close, say under him. he grabs the rim with right hand because of that and holds on. the pass is wide left so he catches ball with his left hand. defense still under him. flips it with his left hand up toward basket and before ball enters cylinder lets go of the rim. ball goes in.

what are you going to do? assume there's a danger still because player is present under him. does the offensive player have to stop competing while he is holding the rim to prevent possible injury…
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
what are you going to do? assume there's a danger still because player is present under him. does the offensive player have to stop competing while he is holding the rim to prevent possible injury…
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?
Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Grabbing the rim to gain an advantage is the T. Did he gain an advantage?
He didn't "grab it to gain an advantage." he grabbed it to "prevent injury." while grabbing to prevent injury he also caught a pass…
with one hand. I'm not sure that's an advantage…better using two hands and have better balance etc…

the play i describe is extreme but the play in the video made me think…(which is always dangerous.).. what if the player kept going under him and hit his legs, he grabs rim for safety and the ball is right there. just like it was in the video. he grabs it, the ball out of reflex etc. are you going to whack him for it...

Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 21, 2014 at 02:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?
No. It is the attempt to gain and advantage that is the infraction.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 21, 2014, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Is an actual advantage required to be in violation of the rule?
one part of the rule says may not "grasp" or grab basket. except to prevent injury. just below another section says you can't place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

Last edited by BigCat; Fri Nov 21, 2014 at 02:53pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can offens grab facemask umpjim Football 30 Tue Sep 23, 2014 03:10pm
Grab water during live ball MelbRef Basketball 29 Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:11pm
An alley-oop that went wrong Rich Basketball 0 Tue Feb 16, 2010 03:43pm
Self Alley-Oop? Larks Basketball 9 Sat Dec 02, 2006 10:04am
Alley-oop...foul? jcurtin Basketball 2 Mon Dec 20, 2004 11:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1