The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Dribble

B1 picks up their dribble and the official starts the 5 second count since A1 is within legal guarding position.* When B1 thinks a 5 second violation is about to be called, B1 intentionally throws the ball off B2’s leg who is standing near by, then B1 retrieves the ball and starts dribbling again. The ball is not tipped by A1.

Last edited by Valley Man; Wed Nov 19, 2014 at 11:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,304
B1 relinquished PC, the ball legally touched another player, and B1 gains PC.

So what's is your question?

(Would the question be any different if B2 had tapped the ball with her hand, instead of the ball hitting her leg?)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Nov 19, 2014 at 12:42pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
B1 picks up their dribble and the official starts the 5 second count since A1 is within legal guarding position.* When B1 thinks a 5 second violation is about to be called, B1 intentionally throws the ball off B2ís leg who is standing near by, then B1 retrieves the ball and starts dribbling again. The ball is not tipped by A1.
Legal. Rule says player can dribble again after he loses control because of a pass or fumble which is touched by another player.
The reason he is passing it off B2 leg isn't relevant. imo
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Legal. Rule says player can dribble again after he loses control because of a pass or fumble which is touched by another player.
The reason he is passing it off B2 leg isn't relevant. imo
Supporting reference -(I just happened to be in my books at the moment.)

9-5-3 . . . A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
B1 picks up their dribble and the official starts the 5 second count since A1 is within legal guarding position.* When B1 thinks a 5 second violation is about to be called, B1 intentionally throws the ball off B2ís leg who is standing near by, then B1 retrieves the ball and starts dribbling again. The ball is not tipped by A1.
I'm nitpicking, but legal guarding position has nothing to do with the six foot distance for a 5-second count to begin.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 12:08pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,490
Legal by rule. It can be easy to get caught up in legality vs. morality sometimes
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
I'm nitpicking, but legal guarding position has nothing to do with the six foot distance for a 5-second count to begin.
Yeah, i think in context of his question you have satisfied the definition of "nitpicking." it happens from time to time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 12:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Legal by rule. It can be easy to get caught up in legality vs. morality sometimes
Yeah, she may burn in hell for it, but I'm not blowing my whistle. She can take it up with her maker.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
I thought that was the answer "no violation". I was worried I had missed something.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dribble me this Vinski Basketball 6 Fri Oct 30, 2009 02:49pm
Dribble fumble dribble? Clark Kent Basketball 20 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:35pm
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
Can you dribble again? zanzibar Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2005 11:26am
Is it a dribble? Back In The Saddle Basketball 13 Wed Jan 21, 2004 04:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1