The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 02:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Dribble fumble dribble?

Question number 93 on Part II says the following...

"It is a violation if A1 dribbles, fumbles and then dribbles again"

This same question was #93 on the 2004-2005 part I test (2004-2005 Boys' Basketball Rules Examination - Part I) and the answer was false, however from what I can find in the rule book it states that "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended unless it is after he/she has lost control because of....A pass or fumble which has been touched, or been touched by another player"

That seems to me to say that the only way it isn't a double dribble is if another player (even a teammate is oK) touches it and thus making the statement true.

Can anyone shed some light on this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 02:49am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post

"It is a violation if A1 dribbles, fumbles and then dribbles again"



That seems to me to say that the only way it isn't a double dribble is if another player (even a teammate is oK) touches it and thus making the statement true.

You got it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 04:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
Question number 93 on Part II says the following...

"It is a violation if A1 dribbles, fumbles and then dribbles again"

This same question was #93 on the 2004-2005 part I test (2004-2005 Boys' Basketball Rules Examination - Part I) and the answer was false, however from what I can find in the rule book it states that "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended unless it is after he/she has lost control because of....A pass or fumble which has been touched, or been touched by another player"

That seems to me to say that the only way it isn't a double dribble is if another player (even a teammate is oK) touches it and thus making the statement true.

Can anyone shed some light on this?
Yeah. The part in red is an error.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Good I am glad you agree, because I can't see it being false, if A1 ends his dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
I believe the adage I learned is that "you can fumble, dribble, fumble, but you can't dribble, fumble, dribble".
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
I believe the adage I learned is that "you can fumble, dribble, fumble, but you can't dribble, fumble, dribble".

Oh No! I just realized that when Padgett wakes up on the west coast and sees this post, he is going to have a field day.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
Oh No! I just realized that when Padgett wakes up on the west coast and sees this post, he is going to have a field day.
It's too late now. Perhaps he has taken his meds today.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 10:14am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
It's not even 7:30 out there yet. I doubt if he's even found his meds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It's not even 7:30 out there yet. I doubt if he's even found his meds.
I'm sure he got up a little bit ago though to take his hourly potty break. Maybe he lined 'em up before bed last night or during one of his breaks *shrug*

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
I believe the adage I learned is that "you can fumble, dribble, fumble, but you can't dribble, fumble, dribble".
The way I play, it's "fumble, fumble, fumble."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The way I play, it's "fumble, fumble, fumble."
I thought only babies dribbled...time for a bib!!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:10am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The way I play, it's "fumble, fumble, fumble."
Which is why I ref!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Which is why I ref!
You ref because I'm bad at basketball?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 219
I think we've all seen the fumble during the dribble, in this case the player recovers the dribble without stopping his dribble. clear as mud?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2008, 11:37am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadking View Post
I think we've all seen the fumble during the dribble, in this case the player recovers the dribble without stopping his dribble. clear as mud?

By definition, there can be no fumble during a dribble.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Dribble or Fumble? KCRef Basketball 6 Fri Mar 14, 2008 07:27am
Interrupted Dribble vs Fumble Carl Cramer Basketball 9 Tue Nov 14, 2006 08:34am
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
Fumble, but also double dribble? Back In The Saddle Basketball 15 Thu Feb 17, 2005 06:42pm
Dribble/Fumble JLC Basketball 5 Fri Dec 20, 2002 05:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1