The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2014, 04:15pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 964
Gonzaga vs. SMU Backcourt Violation? (Video)

I think they missed this call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 04:51am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,103
Bit of a hairsplitter here. If you give the first touch by A11 after the shot player control for that bad attempt of a dribble, you then have the ball apparently touching the division line, A11 leaps from from FC towards the BC, gathers, when the BC violation triggers, and throws the ball back to the FC, just prior to landing BC.

If you do not give PC/TC to A on that dribble attempt, that is a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 07:43am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
No violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 08:38am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,586
I do not have a violation here. He never controlled the ball after the try.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
My guess -- the official didn't recognize that it was a try and TC ended.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
Agree. TC ended on the release...no PC/TC established before the ball went to the BC. No violation.

There could be any number of reasons it was called incorrectly.
1. The official thought the block occurred before the ball was released.
2. The official judged that the offensive player did have control on the first touch after the block.
3. The official doesn't quite understand the backcourt rule (not all that far fetched).
4. The official just reacted without thinking about it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 04:39pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. TC ended on the release...no PC/TC established before the ball went to the BC. No violation.

There could be any number of reasons it was called incorrectly.
1. The official thought the block occurred before the ball was released.
2. The official judged that the offensive player did have control on the first touch after the block.
3. The official doesn't quite understand the backcourt rule (not all that far fetched).
4. The official just reacted without thinking about it.
Just listened to the crew on this game talk about the play. The calling official said it was number 4. He didn't think about it being a blocked shot and realizing there was no longer team control. They missed and admitted as much. They didn't realize until after the game and he got a text message from a buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 04:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Just listened to the crew on this game talk about the play. The calling official said it was number 4. He didn't think about it being a blocked shot and realizing there was no longer team control. They missed and admitted as much. They didn't realize until after the game and he got a text message from a buddy.
So assume this was your game, and you made the same error. And during a time out before the ball was inbounded, the coach then said, "hey, that can't be -- there was a shot, so there was no team control and there can't be a BC violation!" What would you do/say?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
So assume this was your game, and you made the same error. And during a time out before the ball was inbounded, the coach then said, "hey, that can't be -- there was a shot, so there was no team control and there can't be a BC violation!" What would you do/say?
"Coach, in my judgment, he controlled the ball prior to it going to the backcourt."
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
So assume this was your game, and you made the same error. And during a time out before the ball was inbounded, the coach then said, "hey, that can't be -- there was a shot, so there was no team control and there can't be a BC violation!" What would you do/say?
I would go talk it over with my partners and correct the call if we/I decide it was incorrect. There is no reason to knowingly get the rule wrong when you can still get it right. It doesn't do us any good to stick with a bad call we know is bad or to lie about it. All that does us undermine our credibility.

I'd only say was SC_Official suggested if that was the reason I actually called it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 09:44pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I would go talk it over with my partners and correct the call if we/I decide it was incorrect. There is no reason to knowingly get the rule wrong when you can still get it right. It doesn't do us any good to stick with a bad call we know is bad or to lie about it. All that does us undermine our credibility.

I'd only say was SC_Official suggested if that was the reason I actually called it.
So before starting the throw-in for the BC violation, say that it was an inadvertent whistle and give SMU a throw-in at the POI?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So before starting the throw-in for the BC violation, say that it was an inadvertent whistle and give SMU a throw-in at the POI?
As Camron said I would tell coaches a mistake was made. That There was no team control by Smu in the front court after the shot. It was not a violation for their player to be the first to touch/ control it in the backcourt. There should have been no whistle--when that happens the ball is given to the team who was in control when the whistle blew. Here the Smu player had controlled the ball before the whistle when he threw it to front court. Their ball...

Others may shorten it but when we change something because of a rule we need to be able to explain the rule, what happened and what we're going to do now about it. Imo.

Last edited by BigCat; Wed Nov 19, 2014 at 10:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
As Camron said I would tell coaches a mistake was made. That There was no team control by Smu in the front court after the shot. It was not a violation for their player to be the first to touch/ control it in the backcourt. There should have been no whistle--when that happens the ball is given to the team who was in control when the whistle blew. Here the Smu player had controlled the ball before the whistle when he threw it to front court. Their ball...

Others may shorten it but when we change something because of a rule we need to be able to explain the rule, what happened and what we're going to do now about it. Imo.
I've done something similar, when my partner called a travel from the trail position when a shooter caught her own airball in front of me at lead (2 man game). I chatted with him to make sure I knew what he was calling, then we reversed the call. B coach wanted an explanation, and other than questioning me for reversing the call (I should have let my partner make the announcement), he was fine. He already knew the rule anyway.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2014, 11:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
"Coach, in my judgment, he controlled the ball prior to it going to the backcourt."
I'm with Camron. No way I'm saying this unless I believed it. If the coach makes a valid rules point and we know it, make the change if it's not too late. If it's too late, admit you kicked it.

That's going to be much more effective than doubling down.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OK State / Gonzaga (Video) deecee Basketball 13 Sat Mar 22, 2014 09:49pm
Backcourt violation - please provide video sniez Basketball 12 Sun May 26, 2013 05:39pm
Gonzaga / Southern video (Added) Rich Basketball 115 Mon Mar 25, 2013 04:35pm
Backcourt Violation? with Video referee99 Basketball 27 Fri Mar 15, 2013 02:34pm
inbound violation virginia-gonzaga number 26 Basketball 10 Sat Mar 17, 2001 10:07am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1