The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by harsha_nails View Post
Well, because I have never seen anyone do it in the NBA/international basketball

Consider this:

1. Team A initiates a fast break and A1 receives the ball just before the half court line. There is one transition defender B1 ahead of A1
2. Why doesn't A1 just throw the ball forward towards the basket, beat B1 with pace, catch it after one bounce and finish the lay up? I mean this is considerably easier to do than dribble all the way and use skill to beat the defender, isn't it?
I have seen it, just not at the distance you suggest, however. I've seen players toss it ahead 10-15 feet on more then one occasion and continue the dribble from there....just not all the way to the basket. The precision needed to get it to the basket area and catch up to it in time to finish a shot would probably be too difficult in the heat of a game.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 05:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Anybody Got A Problem With This ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The precision needed to get it to the basket area and catch up to it in time ...
In a high school game?

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 04, 2014 at 05:45pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nope. Explicitly legal by a case play somewhere.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nope. Explicitly legal by a case play somewhere.
New to the forum. I have enjoyed reading it from time to time. Thought I'd join to throw two cents worth in...thx for having me.

I don't think this play is in the case books. A try for field goal is defined as an attempt by a player to score 2 or 3 points by throwing ball in his own basket....player is trying for goal if he has the ball and "in officials judgment" he is throwing or attempting to throw for goal.

In the video the player ends his dribble, throws the ball off the backboard and catches it without it touching another player.

If you, the referee, believe this was a try then when he catches it off the backboard it is a legal rebound. However, if you determine that it is not an attempt to score but simply a pass to himself then the player violates when he touches the ball before anyone else off the board. I don't believe there is any rule or play providing that any ball thrown by the offense against its backboard is always a try.

If there is a case book play please let me know. I would say that I wouldnt call the violation unless it was really, really obvious to all that it was a pass and not a try. I think the video shows a violation.

I wouldn't have processed this quick enough had it happened to me in a game. Having seen the play and the question I hope I will remember it in the future. Again, if I'm wrong and there's a case book play please let me know. Thx
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 08:46pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post

I don't think this play is in the case books.

...

Again, if I'm wrong and there's a case book play please let me know. Thx


NFHS: Casebook play 9.5

NCAA Men's: A.R. 105

NBA:

9. Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball?

Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches his basket ring, backboard or another player.
RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 03, 2014, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
NFHS: Casebook play 9.5

NCAA Men's: A.R. 105

NBA:

9. Player A1 passes the ball and it hits his backboard. May Player A1 be the first to touch the ball?

Yes. A player may be the first to touch his own pass if the ball touches
his basket ring, backboard or another player.
RULE 10 - SECTION XIII - g
Thx for the info. The nfhs casebook play cited says this is legal because a player's own backboard is part of his teams equipment...and can be used...thx again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 04, 2014, 07:08am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Own Backboard ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
The nfhs casebook play cited says this is legal because a player's own backboard is part of his teams equipment...and can be used...
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Question: In (a), can said player legally start a dribble?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New FK rule interpretation? Ref1973 Football 8 Wed Sep 10, 2014 09:57am
Fiba lane violation interpretation Brazen Basketball 5 Thu Aug 08, 2013 02:30pm
FIBA Rule Interpretation Teigan Basketball 12 Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:06am
Need a Rule Interpretation Blu_IN Softball 29 Mon Nov 07, 2005 06:11pm
I would like your interpretation of this rule drumbum565 Baseball 37 Thu Jun 23, 2005 04:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1