The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2014, 09:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
A1 has a throw-in along the endline. A1 rolls ball and runs after it and is the first to touch it in bounds near the division line.

Ruling: Throw-in Violation since A1 as the thrower was first to touch ball in bounds...

Question: Would throw in be where the violation occured which is when A1 touched ball near division line? or on end line where throw in originated?

NFHS Rules..
What was the violation? (rhetorical question)

Answer that and you'll know where the throw-in spot should be.

Or, you could check teh case book for this exact play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2014, 09:24pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What was the violation? (rhetorical question)

Answer that and you'll know where the throw-in spot should be.

.
What confused me was the fact that the touch took place near division line..and in my mind that is when violation took place..I was applying the same concept of a BC violation..where the"Touch" took place is where spot of throw in is located
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
What confused me was the fact that the touch took place near division line..and in my mind that is when violation took place..I was applying the same concept of a BC violation..where the"Touch" took place is where spot of throw in is located
Now, in Jeopardy style, make up a question that would fit Jeff's answer since he clearly didn't understand the question....twice.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
What confused me was the fact that the touch took place near division line..and in my mind that is when violation took place..
You're not the only one (or the last one) to get confused by this.

It's not a violation until the touch, but the touch itself isn't the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
This makes me think of a slightly different (and probably more likely) scenario where there would be a question about where the throw in should be from.

1) Endline throw in by A1 travels to mid-court and is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds (standing with a foot touching the sideline).

Two rules seem to conflict:

9-2-11: No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after the designated-spot throw in begins -- this appears to have been violated as A2 was out of bounds after the throw in began, and would suggest that B's throw in is on the endline at the original throw-in spot.

4-42-5: The throw-in ends when: b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds -- this appears to suggest that the throw in ends with the touch and the throw in for B would be at the sideline spot by the out of bounds violation. But if A was out of bounds for the touch, then they must have been out of bounds after the throw in began (and before it ended), which violates 9-2-11.

So... would you consider this a throw-in violation like the OP and bring the ball back to the original spot for B's throw-in, or is this different?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Example of OP -- Officials didn't notice

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
It's not worded very well, but the throw-in is legal, followed immediately by an OOB violation.

I think there's a specific case on that as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 09:28am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
This makes me think of a slightly different (and probably more likely) scenario where there would be a question about where the throw in should be from.

1) Endline throw in by A1 travels to mid-court and is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds (standing with a foot touching the sideline).

Two rules seem to conflict:

9-2-11: No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after the designated-spot throw in begins -- this appears to have been violated as A2 was out of bounds after the throw in began, and would suggest that B's throw in is on the endline at the original throw-in spot.

4-42-5: The throw-in ends when: b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds -- this appears to suggest that the throw in ends with the touch and the throw in for B would be at the sideline spot by the out of bounds violation. But if A was out of bounds for the touch, then they must have been out of bounds after the throw in began (and before it ended), which violates 9-2-11.

So... would you consider this a throw-in violation like the OP and bring the ball back to the original spot for B's throw-in, or is this different?
I guess you'd have to determine which happened first.

Did A2 touch the ball and then step out of bounds, which would result in a throw-in for Team B on the endline.

Or did A2 step out of bounds and then touch the ball, giving Team B a throw-in on the endline.

Reminds me of the "tie goes to the runner" call in baseball. There's no such thing... one happened before the other, and it's your responsibility to figure out which.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 09:47am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I guess you'd have to determine which happened first.

Did A2 touch the ball and then step out of bounds, which would result in a throw-in for Team B on the endline.

Or did A2 step out of bounds and then touch the ball, giving Team B a throw-in on the endline.

...
You have the same answer for both.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 09:51am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You have the same answer for both.
Oops. It should read like this...

Did A2 touch the ball and then step out of bounds, which would result in a throw-in for Team B on the sideline.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 06:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Hey Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., Remember This ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
1) Endline throw in by A1 travels to mid-court and is first touched by A2 who is standing out of bounds (standing with a foot touching the sideline).

Two rules seem to conflict:

9-2-11: No teammate of the thrower shall be out of bounds after the designated-spot throw in begins -- this appears to have been violated as A2 was out of bounds after the throw in began, and would suggest that B's throw in is on the endline at the original throw-in spot.

4-42-5: The throw-in ends when: b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds -- this appears to suggest that the throw in ends with the touch and the throw in for B would be at the sideline spot by the out of bounds violation. But if A was out of bounds for the touch, then they must have been out of bounds after the throw in began (and before it ended), which violates 9-2-11.

So... would you consider this a throw-in violation and bring the ball back to the original spot for B's throw-in, or is this different?
Many years ago, if the throwin was first touched by B2, who is standing out of bounds, it would be considered a throwin violation by Team A, and Team B would get the ball back at the original spot of the throwin.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Many years ago, if the throwin was first touched by B2, who is standing out of bounds, it would be considered a throwin violation by Team A, and Team B would get the ball back at the original spot of the throwin.
I am not sure if that was the way it was or that was the way some were interpreting it to be.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 23, 2014, 11:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I am not sure if that was the way it was or that was the way some were interpreting it to be.
The way I remember it, it must have been quietly changed because the rule said as much, then they quietly changed it back to where it is now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2014, 05:04am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
The Way We Were ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I am not sure if that was the way it was or that was the way some were interpreting it to be.
That was the way it was. Back then, the situation was treated the same as if the throwin ball hit an out of bounds wall (untouched by anybody inbounds). It was a casebook play interpretation. There was no distinction between a player out of bounds, and an object out of bounds, for this specific situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 24, 2014, 12:08am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
9-2-6: The thrown ball shall not touch the thrower in the court before it touches or is touched by another player.

If the "roll" started in the OOB area, that violates 9-2-2: "The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court..."

Cf. PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation...occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot."
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Many years ago, if the throwin was first touched by B2, who is standing out of bounds, it would be considered a throwin violation by Team A, and Team B would get the ball back at the original spot of the throwin.

BillyMac:

Yes I do. Fortunately it was a short lived rule.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-In Location After a Time-Out bainsey Basketball 25 Sun Mar 27, 2011 03:45pm
Throw-in location justacoach Basketball 3 Sat Feb 04, 2006 09:26pm
Throw in Location bmiller Basketball 11 Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:11am
Throw-In Location.......... eventnyc Basketball 5 Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:34am
Flagrant throw in location moose69 Basketball 5 Sun Jan 26, 2003 03:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1