Throw-In Location After a Time-Out
I worked a youth tournament today, where I had to bust a myth by the coach.
A-1 is dribbling in the backcourt unguarded. Coach A tells me that as soon as she crosses the division line, he wants a time-out. Odd request, I'm thinking. However, just before she crosses the line, she high-tails it to the basket, giving me no time to look back at the coach, and she draws a foul. The coach didn't want the time-out by then. So far, so good.
He later asks me that, in order get the throw-in at the divsion line after a time out, must his play cross the division line before the T-O request? Of course, I tell him "no," and explain the whole "closest spot" bit. It's pretty simple, really.
My question is this: Is there a rule set somewhere that could have contributed to this myth?
|