The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:05pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Free Throw At Wrong Basket

I'm re-reading the rule and case books, and thought of a scenario that I can't figure out. Previous case books may have covered it, but I don't have them readily available.

Here it is...

A1 is awarded two free throws after a shooting foul, after the first attempt a time-out is called. Once the time out is over the officials administer the 2nd free throw for A1 at the wrong goal (I don't understand how such a mistake could happen, but stay with me). A1 misses the free throw, which is rebounded by A2 who then shoots and scores. Before B1 in bounds the ball, it is discovered that A1's free throw attempt was at the wrong basket, thus a correctable error.

Now what? Rule 2.10.4 states that the free throw and the activity during it (except for unsporting, flagrant, intentional, and technical fouls) shall be cancelled. However, when the basket was made by A2 the free throw had ended, so this section doesn't apply.

Rule 2.10.5 states that points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified. Therefore the basket by A2 counts.

So it seems that A1 would be given a replacement free throw at the correct basket with the lanes clear. After the attempt, Team B is given a throw in on the endline (and is able to run the line since at the point of interruption they were able to do so after a made basket by Team A), per point of interruption.

But what happens with the basket scored by Team A? Does Team A get the points, as they were led to believe it was the correct basket due to official error? Does Team B get the points since it was actually their basket?

I'm lost, and afraid it may be obvious. If so, please be gentle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
I think this would be correct. If not, I think I could "sell it" because the vast majority of coaches would not know better.

A1 is given a replacement free throw
B is awarded the 2 points for the basket made by A at the wrong end
B gets a throw-in and is able to run the baseline (after the replacement FT)

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance...well, you know the rest.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:13pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatteryPowered View Post
I think this would be correct. If not, I think I could "sell it" because the vast majority of coaches would not know better.

A1 is given a replacement free throw
B is awarded the 2 points for the basket made by A at the wrong end
B gets a throw-in and is able to run the baseline (after the replacement FT)

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance...well, you know the rest.
It seems like a case when fairness is thrown out the window.

I mean, it's not "fair" that Team B is given the points since Team A was led to believe they were at the correct basket by the officials. But it's not "fair" that Team A is given those points and gets a free throw attempt (possible three point play).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
If the last action is a field goal for B, why does B get the ball?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:28pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
If the last action is a field goal for B, why does B get the ball?
Good point. So is this the answer?...

1. A1 is given a replacement free throw at the correct basket with the lane clear. If made Team A is given a point and we go to point of interruption, if the free throw is missed we simply go to point of interruption.

2. Team A is given a throw in on the endline (under Team B's basket), and allowed to run the line since if follows a successful field goal.

Note: Although the basket was scored by A2, it was made at Team B's basket, therefore Team B is given two points and the basket is not awarded to any one player (a notation is made in the scorebook).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:47pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
No way can this basket count for B when everybody on the court, apparently including the officials, thought it was being shot at the correct basket. This would fall under the part (somebody help me with rule #) where the officials allow the teams to go the wrong way.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 04:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Stuff Happens ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
It seems like a case when fairness is thrown out the window.
Very little about the correctable error rule is fair. It's just something that the NFHS jerry–rigged together to get the game back on the right track after an error.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 08:58pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Very little about the correctable error rule is fair. It's just something that the NFHS jerry–rigged together to get the game back on the right track after an error.

Actually, the CER is not a NFHS jerry-rigged rule but one that pre-dates the NFHS and NCAA Rules Committees. The CER has been the same in both NFHS and NCAA (except for some simultaneous tweaking by both Rules Committees in either the late 1980's or early 1990's) since before the 1962-63 school year which means it goes back to the NBCUSC (National Basketball Committee of the United States and Canada) which is the precursor of the NFHS and NCAA Rules Committees.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Actually, the CER is not a NFHS jerry-rigged rule but one that pre-dates the NFHS and NCAA Rules Committees. The CER has been the same in both NFHS and NCAA (except for some simultaneous tweaking by both Rules Committees in either the late 1980's or early 1990's) since before the 1962-63 school year which means it goes back to the NBCUSC (National Basketball Committee of the United States and Canada) which is the precursor of the NFHS and NCAA Rules Committees.

MTD, Sr.
The fact that you know this is sooooooo scary or you are too old.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 30, 2014, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I'm re-reading the rule and case books, and thought of a scenario that I can't figure out. Previous case books may have covered it, but I don't have them readily available.

Here it is...

A1 is awarded two free throws after a shooting foul, after the first attempt a time-out is called. Once the time out is over the officials administer the 2nd free throw for A1 at the wrong goal (I don't understand how such a mistake could happen, but stay with me). A1 misses the free throw, which is rebounded by A2 who then shoots and scores. Before B1 in bounds the ball, it is discovered that A1's free throw attempt was at the wrong basket, thus a correctable error.

Now what? Rule 2.10.4 states that the free throw and the activity during it (except for unsporting, flagrant, intentional, and technical fouls) shall be cancelled. However, when the basket was made by A2 the free throw had ended, so this section doesn't apply.

Rule 2.10.5 states that points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified. Therefore the basket by A2 counts.

So it seems that A1 would be given a replacement free throw at the correct basket with the lanes clear. After the attempt, Team B is given a throw in on the endline (and is able to run the line since at the point of interruption they were able to do so after a made basket by Team A), per point of interruption.

But what happens with the basket scored by Team A? Does Team A get the points, as they were led to believe it was the correct basket due to official error? Does Team B get the points since it was actually their basket?

I'm lost, and afraid it may be obvious. If so, please be gentle.
Assuming the clock properly started when A2 grabbed the rebound and the ball was at B1's disposal following the basket, the error for the FT at the wrong basket is no longer correctable.

Last edited by billyu2; Wed Oct 01, 2014 at 07:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2014, 08:40am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Assuming the clock properly started when A2 grabbed the rebound and the ball was at B1's disposal following the basket, the error for the FT at the wrong basket is no longer correctable.
When the ball is at B1's disposal, wouldn't that be the first dead ball after the clock has properly started? Therefore, the error can be corrected as long as it's caught before B1 inbounds the ball. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2014, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
When the ball is at B1's disposal, wouldn't that be the first dead ball after the clock has properly started? Therefore, the error can be corrected as long as it's caught before B1 inbounds the ball. Right?
Rule 6-1-2, my friend...

The ball becomes live when:
a. On a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the official's hand(s).
b. On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.
c. On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.


...with a little 4-4-7 throw in...

A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2014, 09:07am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Rule 6-1-2, my friend...

The ball becomes live when:
a. On a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the official's hand(s).
b. On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.
c. On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.


...with a little 4-4-7 throw in...

A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.
So my post is moot without changing it to say the error was recognized by the officials as soon as the ball went threw the basket on A2's shot, and before the ball was at the disposal of one of Team B's members for a throw in.

Nuts.

Oh, and thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2014, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
So my post is moot without changing it to say the error was recognized by the officials as soon as the ball went threw the basket on A2's shot, and before the ball was at the disposal of one of Team B's members for a throw in.

Nuts.

Oh, and thanks.
Trying to sort through ...
Assuming the error is correctable (recognized before as you describe here) then is the consensus that:

1) Score the goal for A2 (officials permitted players to go in wrong direction, so this is not a "wrong goal" shot).
2) A1 shoots replacement free throw at the correct basket with lanes cleared
3) Resume at POI which is an end line throw-in for B following the scored goal by A2.

Assuming the error is not correctable (as in original post):
1) Score the goal for A2 (officials permitted players to go in wrong direction, so this is not a "wrong goal" shot).
2) Resume play going in the correct direction with end line throw-in for B following the scored goal by A2.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 02, 2014, 12:02pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Rule 2.10.4 states that the free throw and the activity during it (except for unsporting, flagrant, intentional, and technical fouls) shall be cancelled. However, when the basket was made by A2 the free throw had ended, so this section doesn't apply.

Rule 2.10.5 states that points scored, consumed time, and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified. Therefore the basket by A2 counts.
This is an apparent discrepancy that deserved a full solution. And if I don't hit on it here, someone please forward a more correct attempt to set the record straight once and for all.

My idea: Add the word "legitimately" between "points" and "scored" in 22-10-5. In other words, erroneously scored points, like when wrong FT shooter makes a FT or a FT is shot into the wrong basket, those points are indeed nullified. However, if, during the allowable time frame between a correctable error and the discovery of it, if a basket was legitimately scored, that score would not be nullified.

Would that resolve the conundrum that exists in the OP?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong team tries to throw in after basket Art N Basketball 7 Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:59am
Wrong Free Throw Attempts Signaled jezell Basketball 4 Sat Dec 19, 2009 09:08am
Shooting Free Throw on wrong end Jimgolf Basketball 11 Wed Mar 03, 2004 12:13pm
Shot Technical foul free throws at wrong basket. Jerry Blum Basketball 3 Wed Jan 29, 2003 11:48am
BASKET INTERFERENCE DURING FREE THROW SHANE MEENACH Basketball 2 Thu Oct 21, 1999 01:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1