The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 12, 2014, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Basketball oddities

In a designated throw-in spot situation, once the thrower-in has released the ball, can they run in the out-of-bounds area along the endline ?

It would seem they cannot, because they would no longer be authorized as they were when they were the thrower-in. I have never thought of a "time limit" for the thrower-in to leave the out-of-bounds area, hence my question.

Thanks in advance for any help on this
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 12, 2014, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
They must go directly inbound where directly is not explicitly defined.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 12:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,677
Which leaves us with that testy word called .judgment
.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 01:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which leaves us with that testy word called .judgment
.
Yep. For me if their line is more towards the court than along the OOB line, I consider it good enough....going inbounds within 3-5 feet of where the started. If they run 15 feet OOB across the key, not good.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Apr 13, 2014 at 01:31am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 04:56am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

10-3: A player shall not: Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds.

10.3.2 SITUATION A: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes
the throw-in to A2 and then purposefully delays his/her return by taking
four or five steps along the end line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set
by A3 and A4. A1 gets a return pass from A2 and takes an unchallenged try for
goal. RULING: A1 is charged with a technical foul for purposefully delaying
his/her return to the court following the throw-in. A1’s movement out of bounds
along the end line was to take advantage of the screen and return to the court in
a more advantageous position.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 08:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 13, 2014, 09:14am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
Leaving Court: Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
I've also warned a few times. I would definitely call it more often if it was only a violation rather than a technical foul.

I even suggested a rule change a few years ago. I'm not sure how far "up the ladder" it went, but it, obviously, didn't make it to the top.

Present rule: NFHS 9-3-3: A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
PENALTY: (Section 3) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. (See 6-7-9 Exception d)

Present rule: NFHS 10-3-2: A player shall not: Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds.
PENALTY: (Section 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.

Rationale for change: Change 10-3-2 from a technical foul to a violation. Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds should carry the same penalty as leaving the court for an unauthorized reason.

Suggested change: NFHS 9-3-3-B: A player shall not purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds.
PENALTY: (Section 3) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. (See 6-7-9 Exception d)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Apr 13, 2014 at 10:04am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 10:33am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,373
Kinda...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
Didn't happen to me, but to two or three of our younger association officials in junior high games they were doing last season. A couple of coaches must have strategized late at the pub one night, "I know, let's tell our thrower inner not to come onto the court until we yell 'NOW!'" Sure enough. About four or five seconds after the throw in was completed, the coach would yell "NOW!" and the by-then-unguarded guy would step in right under the basket for an easy shot.
After the solution to the malady was brought up in a rules meeting, one or two T's were dished out. Followed, of course, by manifest protest by said coaches, to no avail of course.
The problem stopped.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Mon Apr 14, 2014 at 10:44am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 12:00pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,147
I usually say, "Get on the court" and that usually solves this problem. At least they know I am watching. Most of the time they just stand there not knowing what to do. I would mainly call a T if I felt it was deliberate or if they clearly got an advantage from staying there.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 01:23pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
Once. Several years ago. Backcourt throw-in on endline. I stepped away about 6 or 7 feet and bounced ball to thrower. Defenders run up and try to "surprise" them with a press. Kid throws the ball in, and then turns and runs over towards me, goes BEHIND me and then runs out onto court and gets pass back from teammate. Nice way to break the press...Coach just shook his head as I reported the T. Not sure if he was shaking his head at me or his player. Didn't really care either way.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 03:17pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
I haven't called a T, but this winter I called a violation for a player cutting underneath the basket and going OOB and then coming back in bounds twice during an observed scrimmage (3 courts with a trainer/senior official observing crews of two). The offending team's coach said something to the court observer and the observer told me not to call a violation unless the player catches the ball upon returning in bounds.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 465 Basketball · 73 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 03:45pm
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
unless the player catches the ball upon returning in bounds.
That would be putting an NCAA twist into the game.
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 04:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,532
Intentional ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I would mainly call a T if I felt it was deliberate or if they clearly got an advantage.
Agree. Deliberate, and/or advantage gained, are pretty much the same as purposely, and/or deceitfully.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2014, 04:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
I haven't called a T, but this winter I called a violation for a player cutting underneath the basket and going OOB and then coming back in bounds twice during an observed scrimmage (3 courts with a trainer/senior official observing crews of two). The offending team's coach said something to the court observer and the observer told me not to call a violation unless the player catches the ball upon returning in bounds.
If I was feeling particularly grumpy, I might ask politely if we're playing under NFHS rules.

More than likely, I'd just file it away quietly while nodding disingenuously.

Although, to be fair, many areas only want this called if it violates the NCAA rule, so if that evaluator has any input into your season schedule, you may want to consider it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 16, 2014, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Anyone actually call this? I've warned for it, once or twice, but that's as far as I've gone.
College IM game years ago. The player was intentionally running around the screens after throwing it in. We warned him several times, and finally T'ed him for it. His HS coach was at the game watching and after the game yelled at us for calling it. Two days later the HS team got called for it because he taught them to do it. He ended up being tossed for arguing the call to the point he was T'ed twice. (I was not calling the Varsity game, but was watching after calling the JV game earlier).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tournament Oddities ballgame99 Basketball 7 Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:27am
Basketball only? Mark Padgett Basketball 57 Wed Mar 07, 2012 06:36pm
Basketball is Basketball tref Basketball 16 Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:28pm
ABA BASKETBALL soflaref0072 Basketball 8 Mon May 30, 2005 07:00am
Basketball ellewisjr Basketball 8 Fri Nov 07, 2003 09:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1