The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 07, 2014, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I am out of town and do not have the book in front of me, but I thought the traveling restriction from the pivot foot moving only applied until the ball was released? I do not recall the ball having to bounce before the pivot foot moves matters for a travel to take place.

Could someone post that part of the rule please?

Peace
I didn't say anything about the pivot foot having to be down until the ball bounced (it doesn't).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 07, 2014, 02:21pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I didn't say anything about the pivot foot having to be down until the ball bounced (it doesn't).
This is why I asked the question. It was unclear what you were trying to say and unclear what the bd41flpk was trying to suggest was illegal about this play. If a player throws a ball in the air (not apart of a shot) then this is not there is nothing illegal about that action as far as I could tell. I was just wondering if I missed some part of the rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 07, 2014, 11:13pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
This is why I asked the question. It was unclear what you were trying to say and unclear what the bd41flpk was trying to suggest was illegal about this play. If a player throws a ball in the air (not apart of a shot) then this is not there is nothing illegal about that action as far as I could tell. I was just wondering if I missed some part of the rule.

Peace
It has to bounce before they can touch it again or continue a dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 07, 2014, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Plays 1 and 2 are in the NFHS Casebook and the NFHS Interpretations thread on this forum. Both are legal if the ball is allowed to contact the court prior to the player touching it again. As others have said the reason is that the action is simply considered to be the start of the dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deadspin: It's not traveling unless Duke says it's traveling Rich Basketball 1 Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:21pm
traveling ? roadking Basketball 3 Wed Dec 05, 2007 09:32am
Traveling actuary77 Basketball 3 Thu Oct 26, 2006 06:17am
Traveling? Spareme Basketball 4 Tue Mar 14, 2006 01:33pm
Traveling Dennis Nicely Basketball 8 Tue Dec 21, 2004 08:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1