The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
No you can't.

2013-14 Case Book 9.2.2 Situation A

Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.
No of those 3 things has happened in the OP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
No of those 3 things has happened in the OP
The back of the backboard is out of bounds by rule. The throw-in touched this object that is out of bounds and therefore it is a violation. Whether or not it is a "run the endline" throw-in or whether the ball comes back to the player is irrelevant—it's a violation. I'm not sure how that case play has nothing to do with the OP. Plus you said that you are allowed to throw the ball off the wall on a throw-in and obviously that's not true.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:23pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I think there is a difference between throwing the ball off the back wall and catching it and then throwing it into the court, and throwing the ball off the back wall and letting it bounce into the court without touching it again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
The back of the backboard is out of bounds by rule. The throw-in touched this object that is out of bounds and therefore it is a violation. Whether or not it is a "run the endline" throw-in or whether the ball comes back to the player is irrelevant—it's a violation. I'm not sure how that case play has nothing to do with the OP. Plus you said that you are allowed to throw the ball off the wall on a throw-in and obviously that's not true.
The case play references the ball touching out of bounds and then going into the court. My situations are bouncing the ball, off the backboard, floor or back wall and having the ball come straight back to A1. A1 can 100% without a doubt "dribble" the ball while standing out of bounds. So the question is what makes it illegal to throw it against the back of the backboard and have it rebound back to A1 while still out of bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
This is the correct understanding and reasoning.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 12:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is the correct understanding and reasoning.
Agree...but some say you can't go by intent but have to go by what actually happens. If that were the case, they never intended to throw it in if it returns to them.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Mar 27, 2014 at 12:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Please note that the front face of the backboard is four feet from the endline on a standard court, so this player threw the ball nearly four feet forward (actually a greater distance when the upward angle is factored in). That most certainly qualifies as a throw-in pass.
Fwiw, I agree that a player may bounce the ball on a rear wall without penalty if it is obvious that there is no intent for this to be the throw-in pass and the ball does not carom into the playing court.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 07:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree...but some say you can't go by intent ...
Some just know that determining intent is called judgment.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 09:27am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
I don't see why we would judge intent, even in 1% of the cases. We place the ball at the disposal of the thrower, suggesting the player's role at that point. But what else is he to do with the ball? Why else would the player release the ball except to inbound it? Setting aside the issue of intent, which I'd consider irrelevant here, I agree with the second part of this analysis: the ball touched OOB before being touched by another player.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Why is there even a discussion about intent? The rule and case books pretty blatantly support that throwing the ball off an object out of bounds before it touches an inbounds player (not including dribbling on the floor) is a violation—there's no basis in the rule for judging intent. If it happens, it's a violation. Am I oversimplifying this?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:25pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
7.7.2
ART. 2 . . . The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.

He violates in two ways, (1) His pass did not go directly into the court, and (2) the throw in pass did not touch another player on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
oob and throw in shont Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:11am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1