The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Throw In

After a made basket A1 runs the base line and when he is behind the backboard he attempts a thrown in that hits the back of the backboard and comes directly back to him. This ball has never touched inbounds. Do you have anything?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:07pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
OOB violation/Throw-in violation
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
OOB violation/Throw-in violation
I agree that I'm going to probably make the same call, but what rule has been violated?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:15pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
I agree that I'm going to probably make the same call, but what rule has been violated?
Actually an out of bounds violation. I guess technically you could say a throw-in violations as well, considering that you did not complete the throw-in properly.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 85
I can bounce the ball out of bounds and I can turn around and bounce the ball off the back wall. Why can't I bounce the ball off the back of the backboard as long as I complete my legal throw in within 5 seconds
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 09:21pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
I can bounce the ball out of bounds and I can turn around and bounce the ball off the back wall. Why can't I bounce the ball off the back of the backboard as long as I complete my legal throw in within 5 seconds
Because the thrower released the ball toward the court as he's required to do within 5 seconds...once that happens, the thrower can't be the first to touch the ball. He also needs to release the ball and cause it to touch another player.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
I can bounce the ball out of bounds and I can turn around and bounce the ball off the back wall. Why can't I bounce the ball off the back of the backboard as long as I complete my legal throw in within 5 seconds
No you can't.

2013-14 Case Book 9.2.2 Situation A

Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
oob and throw in shont Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:11am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1