The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:03pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
This is the correct understanding and reasoning.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 12:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
On an end line throw in, we have to determine the intent of the throw. 99% of the time, or more, the intent is obvious. This is one of those times. The intent was to throw the ball onto the court, thus making it a throw in pass. Once that throw in pass touches OOB before touching a player, it is a violation for having a TI pass go OOB before touching a player.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is the correct understanding and reasoning.
Agree...but some say you can't go by intent but have to go by what actually happens. If that were the case, they never intended to throw it in if it returns to them.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Mar 27, 2014 at 12:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 04:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Please note that the front face of the backboard is four feet from the endline on a standard court, so this player threw the ball nearly four feet forward (actually a greater distance when the upward angle is factored in). That most certainly qualifies as a throw-in pass.
Fwiw, I agree that a player may bounce the ball on a rear wall without penalty if it is obvious that there is no intent for this to be the throw-in pass and the ball does not carom into the playing court.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 06:26am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Bounce Pass ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
2013-14 Case Book 9.2.2 Situation A: Thrower A1: causes the ball to carom from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; RULING: Violation in since the throw touched an object out of bounds.
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 07:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
You would be incorrect, Billy. That is indeed a throw-in violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
You should call that a violation - this is exactly what is described in the rule quoted above.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 08:44am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
I've called it plenty of times. If you're not going to call it if it bounces within the designated spot, why would you call it if it bounces OOB outside of the DS? There's no rule-based distinction there? The ball is not required to stay within the spot, only the player. In fact, if the thrower wants to "dribble", the "dribble" is not required to stay within the DS either.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
What about this

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
At the end of a game the inbounder, in adherence to that old bromide of "Roll it", releases the ball behind the endline and it ultimately makes its way onto the court. Do you have a whistle in this case?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:10am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
At the end of a game the inbounder, in adherence to that old bromide of "Roll it", releases the ball behind the endline and it ultimately makes its way onto the court. Do you have a whistle in this case?
If released onto the floor OOB, yes. If released directly in-bounds, no. I have no problem calling the violation in the first situation.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 04:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
No Exceptions To The Rule ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So an inbounder can't make a "bounce pass" throwin, even if he's ten feet back from the boundary, and the ball bounces once out of bounds (within the designated spot), and then is caught by a player inbounds? I'm not sure that I'm calling that a violation in my game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
You would be incorrect, Billy. That is indeed a throw-in violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You should call that a violation - this is exactly what is described in the rule quoted above.
I know that it's a violation, but I would still have trouble calling it based on intent, and purpose.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If you're not going to call it if it bounces within the designated spot, why would you call it if it bounces OOB outside of the DS? There's no rule-based distinction there? The ball is not required to stay within the spot, only the player. In fact, if the thrower wants to "dribble", the "dribble" is not required to stay within the DS either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballref3966 View Post
The rule and case books pretty blatantly support that throwing the ball off an object out of bounds before it touches an inbounds player (not including dribbling on the floor) is a violation—there's no basis in the rule for judging intent. If it happens, it's a violation.
Yes, the casebook play is pretty clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
It's not unusual, I think, for a player to grab the ball, step OOB and throw the ball against the back wall in frustration. I never even considered that a violation?
Nor would I, but it is a violation according to the caseplay. What's everybody else doing on this play: ignore, or violation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
At the end of a game the inbounder, in adherence to that old bromide of "Roll it", releases the ball behind the endline and it ultimately makes its way onto the court. Do you have a whistle in this case?
I don't think that I would, but the casebook is pretty clear that it's a violation.

An inbounder can "dribble" the ball, he can make a bounce pass, on a run the endline throwin, to another player out of bounds, but he can't throw a bounce pass, that bounces out of bounds, right in front of him, within his designated spot, to a teammate in bounds?

Yes, the casebook play is quite clear. I guess we have to officiate with the rules that we have, not with the rules that we would like to see.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Mar 27, 2014 at 05:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 09:35am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Fwiw, I agree that a player may bounce the ball on a rear wall without penalty if it is obvious that there is no intent for this to be the throw-in pass and the ball does not carom into the playing court.
It's not unusual, I think, for a player to grab the ball, step OOB and throw the ball against the back wall in frustration. I never even considered that a violation. "Intent" just seems superfluous, reading a term into a rule that isn't there. Some rules talk about intent, others don't, so why import it?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 09:39am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Once you release the ball and it crosses the endline, if it touches anybody or anything other than yourself, you have released the ball for a throw-in. So when it hits the back of the backboard you have committed a throw-in violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 06:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
It's not unusual, I think, for a player to grab the ball, step OOB and throw the ball against the back wall in frustration. I never even considered that a violation. "Intent" just seems superfluous, reading a term into a rule that isn't there. Some rules talk about intent, others don't, so why import it?
I don't see this, but I agree it's not a throw in pass, so it's not restricted the same way.

Now, if a player suddenly thinks he's Meadowlark Lemon and wants to throw it off of the wall to a teammate in bounds, that's a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 06:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Sweet Georgia Brown ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Billy, the THROW-IN PASS cannot touch anything which is OOB prior to contacting a player on the court. If it does that is a throw-in violation. Any action which is NOT a throw-in pass does not have to adhere to that restriction. That is why a player may bounce the ball on the OOB area of the floor PRIOR to making a throw-in pass. The thrower could also bounce the ball of the back wall or the stanchion as long as that action is PRIOR to making the throw-in pass and not part of it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
It's not a throw in pass, so it's not restricted the same way. Now, if a player suddenly thinks he's Meadowlark Lemon and wants to throw it off of the wall to a teammate in bounds, that's a violation.
Thanks for the great explanation guys, and for taking the time to post it.

I love the Meadowlark Lemon play. It should be in the casebook. And none of this A1, A2 crap, just have Meadowlark pass it to Curly Neal in the caseplay.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Mar 27, 2014 at 06:42pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
oob and throw in shont Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:11am
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1