The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 02:01pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Ah - I misunderstood that you were taking their answers to the first (which were wrong) and applying them to the second question (where they are now right). got it now.
Lawyers call this "nunc pro tunc" ("now for then" is the rough translation): the wrong answer then is the right answer now!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Lawyers call this "nunc pro tunc" ("now for then" is the rough translation): the wrong answer then is the right answer now!
I think I had nunc pro tunc at the Vietnamese Pho place yesterday.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 173
I am thinking this might not apply to OP as it appears to describe a live ball with clock winding down and the shot at .2 seconds remaining.

However, what would your ruling be if this occurred on a throw-in at .2 seconds?

5-2-5 . . . When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (. 3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score.

NOTE: This rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second.
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you.

Last edited by NoFussRef; Tue Mar 18, 2014 at 02:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFussRef View Post
5-2-5 . . . When play is resumed with a throw-in or free throw and three-tenths (. 3) of a second or less remains on the clock, a player may not gain control of the ball and try for a field goal. In this situation only a tap could score.

NOTE: This rule does not apply if the clock does not display tenths of a second.
This rule has absolutely nothing to do with anything we're talking about here.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2014, 06:17pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I think I had nunc pro tunc at the Vietnamese Pho place yesterday.
Nothing like a good Pho Cup for lunch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timing Question NJOfficial Basketball 15 Sat Feb 19, 2011 10:09pm
Timing question DrMooreReferee Football 8 Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:31pm
Timing question Moshiner1345 Football 7 Thu Sep 25, 2008 08:27pm
Fed timing question ljudge Football 11 Sun Aug 05, 2007 08:23pm
timing question Troward Basketball 22 Sat Nov 02, 2002 10:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1