![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I think I'm leaving the first part alone. The dribbler doesn't appear to extend an arm to push, and the defender only moves as much as he does because he's so much smaller... not because he was pushed hard. I see too often where a foul is called on somebody just because they are bigger and going against a smaller player who falls.
I agree that the second is a PC foul, as I see the defender gain LGP against the second dribbler before getting pushed to the floor. |
|
|||
|
Depending on the level of physicality allowed and for consistencies sake these either have to be PC's or no calls.
Would love to know what the rationale for a block on that play is for the official.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm OK with a no call on the first. On the 2nd contact, it is hard to tell from the video angle but it appears the defender may be stepping into the dribbler making it a block.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Talk about a size mismatch! Looked like the shortest player on orange could be the power forward for white.I think the second contact was enough to deserve a PC call |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I see it more in lower level games, where some kids grow fast while others grow slowly, so you end up with kids that weight significantly more than others. So contact between the two may look like a whale, but in reality the contact comes from legal play between two players. Last edited by BryanV21; Thu Mar 06, 2014 at 10:41pm. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
True. The size of players involved can often deceive.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Still not sure I follow your logic on this. The level of contact, across the spectrum from slight to severe, has no bearing on whether or not a foul has been committed. If the contact affects a players RSBQ or causes them to be displaced from a legally obtained position, it is a foul. In some cases, the contact might be slight and also constitute a foul and in other cases, the contact could be severe and be legal. Under no circumstance is it acceptable to use the size of the players involved to determine if contact is legal/illegal. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You are right, the point could not be more simple. You are looking at factors that are irrelevant in determining whether or not a foul has occurred. There is no need to be deceived by the size difference between two players involved in any play. Using the example you first gave, it does not matter that the bigger player barely contacted the much smaller player. If the result is that the smaller player has their RSBQ disrupted or is displaced from their legally obtained position, it is a foul. Nor does it matter that this same amount of contact would have no affect a larger player resulting in a no call. The only exceptions to this allowed by rule are the new absolutes involving two hands on the ball handler, arm bars on the ball handler, continually keeping a hand on the ball handler, and multiple hot stove touches on the ball handler, all of which are automatic fouls regardless of their affect on RSBQ. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What if I take the word "deceive" out... A play can look different due to the size of the player(s) involved. Last edited by BryanV21; Fri Mar 07, 2014 at 12:23am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| PC, Block or No-Call (video) | JetMetFan | Basketball | 71 | Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:09am |
| Legal Block (Video) | JRutledge | Football | 6 | Sat Sep 21, 2013 03:46pm |
| Block/Charge video | ballgame99 | Basketball | 27 | Sat Aug 31, 2013 09:51am |
| Positioning (video) | JetMetFan | Basketball | 6 | Sun Aug 18, 2013 08:09am |
| OU vs OSU block on OU LB video | BoBo | Football | 0 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:32am |