The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 01:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Block/Charge video

Because we all love videos;



I have a block. The last step to get into LGP looks late to me. Plus if you want to draw a charge under the basket I'm not going to give it to you unless you are very clearly there in time.

The season is almost here!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 02:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,922
From this view I agree with the Lead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Plus if you want to draw a charge under the basket I'm not going to give it to you unless you are very clearly there in time.
What's your definition of "in time"? Looks like a good call to me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 03:09pm
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,569
Charge. I don't think the lateral movement OP is talking about takes away the defenders LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 589
Good call. Would be a shame to penalize the D on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
Charge

Charge. The defender established LGP. I would also be ok with a no-call. I don't know the flow/physicality of the game, but they are supposed to be two of the best HS teams in the country and the contact wasn't that severe.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Plus if you want to draw a charge under the basket I'm not going to give it to you unless you are very clearly there in time.
This game was played under NFHS rules. By rule, what does being under the basket have to do with anything?
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 05:23pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Hate to Pile On, But . . .

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
. . . if you want to draw a charge under the basket I'm not going to give it to you unless you are very clearly there in time.
Therefore, a charge is granted anywhere else on the floor in spite of the defense getting there a little late?

__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
NFHS: Legal guarding position by the secondary defender and obvious displacement. Charge 100% of the way.

NCAA-W: This would be a restricted arc play since the player received the ball outside the lower defensive box as I understand the new rule. True?

I don't understand how you could have a no-call on this play with the displacement across the lane but that's why we are all here to learn.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 29, 2013, 06:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
NFHS: Legal guarding position by the secondary defender and obvious displacement. Charge 100% of the way.

NCAA-W: This would be a restricted arc play since the player received the ball outside the lower defensive box as I understand the new rule. True?

I don't understand how you could have a no-call on this play with the displacement across the lane but that's why we are all here to learn.

-Josh
I could see a no-call if you think displacement was sufficiently embellished. I've seen players cause themselves to slide back that far on minor contact.

From this angle, I like the call, although I would like to see the lead on the other side to get this. He would have had a much better view of the play, and the level of contact that was actually made.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2013, 07:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I could see a no-call if you think displacement was sufficiently embellished. I've seen players cause themselves to slide back that far on minor contact.

From this angle, I like the call, although I would like to see the lead on the other side to get this. He would have had a much better view of the play, and the level of contact that was actually made.
It was an immediate drive to the basket, I think he was good in not rotating. Plus his partners were slow in getting down court.

If he rotates then and A1 passes the ball across court there would be nobody to referee ball side.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2013, 07:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
It was an immediate drive to the basket, I think he was good in not rotating. Plus his partners were slow in getting down court.

If he rotates then and A1 passes the ball across court there would be nobody to referee ball side.
I get that, and not everyone will agree with me. This was a slow break, IMO, and I have no problem going ball side for the angle. If it makes C bust his hump a bit more (I pregame that I'll do this), so be it.

Regardless, if L doesn't get over (for whatever reason), this is C's call. The fact that he's a bit slow coming down court doesn't change that. I think the L was right in getting it, but I'm a bit disappointed I don't see a whistle from C.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2013, 08:38am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I get that, and not everyone will agree with me. This was a slow break, IMO, and I have no problem going ball side for the angle. If it makes C bust his hump a bit more (I pregame that I'll do this), so be it.

Regardless, if L doesn't get over (for whatever reason), this is C's call. The fact that he's a bit slow coming down court doesn't change that. I think the L was right in getting it, but I'm a bit disappointed I don't see a whistle from C.
All the guys I work for don't want us rotating until all 3 officials are in the front court.

But even if the C had gotten down the court faster he is supposed to be officiating A1 and B1 all the way to the basket and up in the air. B1 is contesting the shot from behind so the C has to watch for that contact. The C is not going to be focused on that secondary defender (B2) sliding in and taking the contact.

To me this is the Lead's whistle all the way.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2013, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
All the guys I work for don't want us rotating until all 3 officials are in the front court.
SOme say don't rotate until all officials are in the FC.

Others say get over where you need to be and it's up to the other officials to move.

It might depend on what you can rely on from the "average" official.

When in rome ....

And, sometimes you need to officiate, no matter what the "mechanics" say.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 30, 2013, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
This game was played under NFHS rules. By rule, what does being under the basket have to do with anything?
I'm just saying if its bang/bang and the defender is under the basket, I'm going to lean towards a block. That's all Im saying. And from the angle given, it looks like B1 slides into his final position while A1 is airborne.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSU-MSU Video Request: Block or Charge? McMac Basketball 1 Sat Mar 16, 2013 08:43pm
Block/charge video bainsey Basketball 69 Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:23am
Block/charge JeroenB Basketball 28 Tue Dec 11, 2012 06:31am
Video request - another block/charge Rich Basketball 46 Thu Mar 08, 2012 01:52pm
Video review question on block charge drofficial Basketball 33 Fri Oct 29, 2010 07:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1