![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I have a charge. Not that close, really, just happened quickly. Tie goes to the offense, even when it's not a tie.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Defender was there. Offense had the ball. No time/distance required. Charnge.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Rule 4-23
ART. 5... Guarding a moving opponent without the ball: a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain initial legal position. b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact. c. The distance need not be more than two strides. I wouldn't treat the player receiving the ball as "an opponent with the ball", as in Article 4... where time and distance are not factors. By the time he caught and gathered the ball he had no chance to do anything with it (dribble, shoot, pass, or just stop with it), as the defender was less than two steps away. Perhaps if the defender was within the offensive player's line of sight, then you can say the offensive player had enough of a chance to avoid contact. But since the offensive player was looking back and up at the pass, I would say without reservation that the defender was at fault for the contact. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
He obviously had, so then he had the ball and time and distance are not factors. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
ART 1... A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. The player is clearly not dribbling the ball at the time of contact, so would you say he is holding it? I wouldn't. Because when I read the dribbling part of the equation, "holding" tells me the player is standing still with the ball... which the player clearly isn't standing still with the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
I did not see other comments, but I have a charge.
Defender was in LGP, got to that spot first and prepared for contact. Once again we penalize defenders for doing nothing wrong or illegal too much. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
It's this simple... You SHOULD.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The player had the ball -- it's a charge. Last edited by bob jenkins; Mon Feb 03, 2014 at 12:11pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In part a of the situation, the screener (A1) is called for a blocking foul, apparently because A1 is so close that B1 cannot avoid A1 and contact results. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bryan: First full disclosure: My mother graduated from Kansas and I am a Kansas fan, but people in the Forum will tell you I am always unbiased when it comes to officiaing. Once the Texas player had control of the ball, the Kansas defender had established a LGP. Time and distance does not matter in this play nor does it matter whether the Texas player did or not see the Kansas player. This is a classic Casebook Play for a charge. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| SC Top 10 Play--Block, Charge, No Call | APG | Basketball | 17 | Mon Dec 23, 2013 03:23pm |
| Block/Charge Play | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 38 | Thu Dec 13, 2012 09:05am |
| Block/Charge RA Play: Off Rebound | APG | Basketball | 76 | Thu May 10, 2012 05:49pm |
| Block/Charge: RA Play | APG | Basketball | 21 | Mon May 07, 2012 03:02pm |
| Charge and a block on the same play | Coach Bill | Basketball | 33 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 04:16pm |